The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cant send email with outlook or thunderbuird

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by gadalf, Oct 13, 2014.

  1. gadalf

    gadalf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I tried to configure my email in outlook and get this mesage when try to send emails:
    Sending of message failed.
    Meanwhile I get all the incoming emails?
    What you suggest me to do?
     
  2. server9host

    server9host Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Please check out going email server properly insert ot not also check SMTP port number it should be 25/465

    Thanks
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    What port number are you using for SMTP? You may need to use an alternate port number if your ISP blocks port 25. You can configure Exim to run on an additional port via:

    "WHM Home » Service Configuration » Service Manager"

    Thank you.
     
  4. gadalf

    gadalf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I checked and
    is set to 26.
    Should I change this?
     
  5. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    26 will work. 587 is a common port for this as well. If you have a firewall installed (you should!) then you'll want to make sure that whatever additional port(s) you setup are open in the firewall as well.
     
  6. gadalf

    gadalf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Here are some error I get on send maild delivery reposts when my client try to send mails with outlook
    SMTP error from remote mail server after RCPT TO:: host mottmac-

    com.mail.protection.outlook.com [213.***.154.***]: 550 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host

    [myip] blocked using FBLW15; To request r

    SMTP error from remote mail server after end of data: host mailhub.siol.net [213.***.19.***]:

    554 5.7.1 : End-of-data rejected: Blocked - Your IP [myip] has no corresponding

    reverse (PTR) address. Ask your Internet
     
  7. server9host

    server9host Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Please check your IP is blacklisted or not because as per given log show that IP is block also check your domain name properly resolved or not.

    Thanks
     
    #7 server9host, Oct 20, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2014
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check to ensure the IP address referenced in that bounce message has a valid PTR record (RDNS).

    Thank you.
     
  9. gadalf

    gadalf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it was black listed by Microsoft, I contacted them and they removed it!

    - - - Updated - - -

    Now this is the only problem I have at the moment and it is with only 1 email adress.
    How to resolve this?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You will have to submit a request to your ISP or hosting provider to have them setup the RDNS record for the IP address referenced in that error message. If it's your server IP address, then request the record is configured with your server's hostname.

    Thank you.
     
  11. gadalf

    gadalf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You will need to contact your VPS hosting provider and request that they configure the RDNS record for you. The only time you can setup the record on your own is if it your provider/data center confirms that the ability to do that has been delegated to your server. The fact that your server is unmanaged does not automatically mean that ability has been granted.

    Thank you.
     
  13. gadalf

    gadalf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for your help.
    I have contacted them and here is thier reply:
    I checked the reverse dns management as they say and there i found the server name vmixxxx.contab.... I want to name it server1.my server name.com. If I do name it like this I have to create the subdomian server1.myservername.com to point to my IP adresss and then follow the steps mentioned here :
    https://documentation.cpanel.net/display/CKB/How+to+Configure+Reverse+DNS+for+BIND+in+WHM

    I am asking because I am afraid i make a mess there.

    Thanks again!
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, if you configure the record in their interface then you no longer have to setup the record on the cPanel server. The record would be configured after you set it up in their administrative interface.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page