The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't set correct Ips for nameserver

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by ultralion, Jan 22, 2014.

  1. ultralion

    ultralion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Viareggio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello!
    I have a problem.
    i have 2 nameserver:
    NS1.xxxxxxx.xxx with ip 90.xxx.xxx.001
    NS2.xxxxxxx.xxx with ip 90.xxx.xxx.002

    Now i have 3 Ips on my machine
    1 x Hostname
    2 x Nameserver and 2 Website with a dedicate ips.

    in the DNS ZONE i can correctly see that the 2 ips are set properly...
    but on IP USAGE TABLE i can see that only 1 Nameserver is using an Ip (the second). The other is not responding and can't see on the list.
    Cpanel assign autimatically ips... so i can't select the right one for every NS.
    There's a way to fix this??
    I attach an image file for better show the issue
     

    Attached Files:

  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The functionality of the "Nameserver IPs" page is for visual purposes only. It is a report, and not a page meant to configure any aspect of DNS. It reports the nameservers used by DNS zones on the server, as well as a count of the the number of zones that use a given nameserver. The important entries on the cPanel server are the "A" records that you have added for your name servers. Thus, as long as you have registered these name servers to the matching IP addresses at the domain registrar, then no further DNS configuration is required. The "Nameserver IPs" page can include cached data, so you can safely ignore any mentions of "No IP" or a different IP on that page as it may take some time before it updates.

    Note: cPanel version 11.42 introduces the "NS Record Report" option in place of the "Nameserver IP's" option.

    Thank you.
     
  3. ultralion

    ultralion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Viareggio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    well i see.
    Anyway i'm not sure that everything is configured correctly.
    On the old server i had an hostname like "everyword@everydomain.com"
    On the new server i set the Hostname "everyword2@everydomain.com"
    But i've seen on the old there are 2 DNS zone (1 for hostname and 1 for domain).
    So i suppose i have to delete the old one (on previous server) and recreate the Dns zone dore EVERYDOMAIN.COM on new server (wich contains NS records, A record for hostname etc.)
    Isn't it?? Bacause i'm afraid that when i suspend the old server, the new will not work.... or i wrong? :confused:
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Keep in mind that the use of the "@" character in a hostname is not valid. A valid hostname would be something like:

    Code:
    server.domain.com
    As long as you have updated your name server IP addresses at the domain registrar to IP addresses used on the new server, and added the "A" records for your name servers on the cPanel server, it should be sufficient. The hostname can have it's own DNS Zone, or have an entry in the zone of the domain name it's associated with.

    Thank you.
     
  5. ultralion

    ultralion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Viareggio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Oh sorry i make mistake about "@"character. Sure i know :)
    Well now is all clear. Last question.. i have this error testing dns queries:

    Mail server host name in greeting The configuration of your mail servers and your DNS are not ok! The report of the test is:
    anydomain.com. -> vps.anydomain.com -> N.C.
    Spam recognition software and RFC821 4.3 (also RFC2821 4.3.1) state that the hostname given in the SMTP greeting MUST have an A record pointing back to the same server.

    On the old server this point was resolving itself.. What can i check to fix this??
    I was thinking that "anydomain.com" DNS ZONE is Missing on the server.. but you wrote is not necessary
    Many Thanks
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check to make sure a DNS zone exists for your hostname, or the "A" entry exists for it within the DNS zone of the domain name it's associated with. You can typically verify it's setup correctly by looking for warning messages when running:

    Code:
    /scripts/ipcheck --verbose
    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page