The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't SSH into my server, could earlier today and nothing was changed.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by YukFoo, Jun 7, 2003.

  1. YukFoo

    YukFoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can't SSH into my server, could earlier today and nothing was changed. How can I fix this, has anyone experienced this?

    --- Restarting SSH from WHM didn't work, said it started ok. WHen I try to SSH in, I don't get anything.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #1 YukFoo, Jun 7, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2003
  2. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Contact your provider and have them do a manual reboot. Should bring things back up for you.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. YukFoo

    YukFoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually this is my server, rebooted plenty of times. I solved the problem. Although Zone Alarm wasn't running it was still blocking Putty from accessing the server. Uninstalled ZoneAlarm, rebooted my machine and everything is fine.

    Thanks to Dave from Cpanel for trying to login via his machine. Once he tried and succeeded, I knew the problem was on this machine. Solved. ZoneAlarm is evil :D IMHO

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Why didn't you just grant access for Putty within ZoneAlarm? If it worked before (presuming you had both programs installed, and then stopped, it can only be presumed that ZoneAlarm settings were changed or not setup correctly -- for Putty.

    One 'never' wants to be accessing the Internet without a Firewall.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page