The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cant start nameserver with freebsd

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by wmeyer, Mar 15, 2005.

  1. wmeyer

    wmeyer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We are running FreeBSD 5.3 and get the following error message whenever we try and run the nameserver.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    Thanks

    Warren
    -------------------------------------------

    Name Server Activated
    Ensuring caching-nameserver is installed
    Using package directory: packages-5.3-release
    Cannot find package caching-nameserver ...
    Activating nameserver monitoring
    chkservdStarting Nameserver


    Attempting to restart named

    Waiting for named to restart....
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    finished.






    named status



    named has failed, please contact the sysadmin (result was "named is not running").
     
  2. malk

    malk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having the same problem on my freebsd 5.3 machine (WHM 10.0.0 cPanel 10.0.0-R11) what it looks like is that named isn't in /usr/sbin/ but in /usr/local/sbin/ I tried symbolically linking it, copying it, but the only thing that worked, in the five minutes I futzed with it, was starting it manually with:

    host# /usr/local/sbin/named -u bind -c /etc/namedb/named.conf

    The WHM says it is not running, but the machine responds to queries.
     
  3. lunsfordsm

    lunsfordsm Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there an official fix to this problem?

    My server has had the same exact problem for the past couple months, and only runs when manually starting it with

    /usr/local/sbin/named -u bind -c /etc/namedb/named.conf

    This problem resulted from a CPanel update and was only noticed after a reboot.
     
  4. malk

    malk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    my horrible solution has been to run a cron script every 15 minutes to restart named. i have been really unhappy with this solution, but it has solved 90% of my problems. I am really hopeful for some decent support with 5.3+

    Also, when things go really bad. I have found upcp has helped. But not permanently.
     
  5. lpmusix

    lpmusix Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I posted this as a bug in bugzilla a week or so ago. hopefully it'll be resolved soon :)
     
  6. creos

    creos Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Any update? What's the bugzilla bug #
     
  7. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    BIND and FreeBSD have many problems, if not configured properly. There are so many variables invloved, and every server is unique. There is no "one-size-fits-all" fix.
     
  8. AMD64

    AMD64 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Was there a fix for this issue?

    I have FreeBSD 4.10 wit latest cPanel and in service status named shows as "named ()" with no version number. After a reboot named failed to start and had to be started manually.

    Any solutions for this?
     
  9. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Remove and then re-install BIND.
     
  10. AMD64

    AMD64 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any idea how to do this with FreeBSD?
     
  11. tuxdesk

    tuxdesk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Please login as root
    #cd /usr/ports/dns/bind9
    #make deinstall
    #make reinstall
     
Loading...

Share This Page