The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't upgrade to PHP 4.3.8

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JoehBloeh, Aug 12, 2004.

  1. JoehBloeh

    JoehBloeh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I was caught off guard this morning, when PHP 4.3.4 was no longer an option for easyapache. I've never had luck upgrading beyond that.

    So here I am, server down, despirately trying to get PHP 4.3.8 installed, with no luck.

    This is as close as I get:

    Code:
    configure php-4.3.8...(--with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --enable-ftp --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysql --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --enable-versioning --with-zlib).................................Done
    make php-4.3.8...(clean)....Done
    make php-4.3.8.............................................................................................................................Done
    make php-4.3.8...(install)..........Done
    configure php-4.3.8...(--prefix=/usr --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --enable-ftp --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysql --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --enable-versioning --with-zlib)................................Done
    make php-4.3.8...(clean)....Done
    make php-4.3.8................................................................................................................Done
    make php-4.3.8...(install).........Done
    ./build all
    ./build install
    Waiting for httpd to restart........No matching processes were found
    ......finished.
    
    
    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.
    ./build install
    Waiting for httpd to restart..............finished.
    
    
    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.
    I searched through a few other threads, but nothing that helped. I do get this line that I saw somebody else had, but different problem:

    In /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log
    Code:
     [warn] pid file /usr/local/apache/logs/httpd.pid overwritten -- Unclean shutdown of previous Apache run?
    Where else can I look to find out why http won't run after PHP is built?

    That's always one of my favorites... "Please contact the sysadmin"
     
    #1 JoehBloeh, Aug 12, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2004
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Looks like you've got an orphaned PID file. Just do:

    httpd stop
    and repeat it a few times, then do:

    httpd startssl

    Then check /etc/httpd/logs/error_log againif it doesn't come up.
     
  3. JoehBloeh

    JoehBloeh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for that Chirpy, but it's not helping.

    You are right, I am getting orphaned PID files, but removing them doesn't let me start httpd.

    I got in touch with my datacenter support, and they had me rebuild cpanel files like so:

    rm -f /usr/local/cpanel/cpanel
    /scripts/installgd
    /scripts/cleanmd5
    /scripts/upcp


    Then I re-ran easyapache... Same results. Looks like it installs OK, just won't run.

    Now there's nothing in the error_log... configtest runs OK. Just won't start httpd.

    Anything else I can try before opening a Cpanel ticket?

    Thanks!
     
  4. JoehBloeh

    JoehBloeh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Got it fixed.

    For archival sake...

    I had an accelerator installed and apparently it doesn't like the new PHP versions.

    Turk-MMCache was in my php.ini and was breaking the builds. I commented those sections out, and it came up fine.

    Thanks...
     
  5. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Thanks for following up :)
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That's very naughty of Turk-MMCache, though I seem to remember reading about that somewhere (the incompatibility). What made you realise it was that?
     
  7. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Somebody posted that about Zend Optimizer too.
     
  8. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    For 4.3.8? I have it running on one of mine without issue.
     
  9. JoehBloeh

    JoehBloeh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nothing in particular... Just a last minute back of the brain thought... I did have it documented in an admin readme of mine... But that was running on the Web server, so I couldn't get to it.

    I guess I'm off to hunt down a new optimizer!
     
Loading...

Share This Page