The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Case 103121] subdomains of the hostname's root domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by seoresearch, Mar 12, 2014.

  1. seoresearch

    seoresearch Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Starting 2-3 days ago i am getting this strange message when i try to add a subdomain or a new domain:

    You do not have permission to create subdomains of the server's hostname.

    I have also looked at cpanel error log and this is what i get:

    Code:
            main::y(GLOB(0xe302150)) called at cpanel line 5257
            main::run_standard_mode() called at cpanel line 785
    [2014-03-12 12:36:24 +0200] warn [AddonDomain::addaddondomain] Encountered error in AddonDomain::addaddondomain: You do not have permission to create subdomains of the server's hostname.
    As i can see it creates the folder and also I've been able to enter an A record from Advance DNS Zone Editor som my believe is that there is an issue writing in /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf

    Hope someone had this problem before or can help me with a solution

    Tnx
     
  2. chifliiiii

    chifliiiii Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the exact same problem. I tried updating cPanel from my WHM but the error still there. Any fox for this?
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Check to see if the following option is enabled under the "Domains" tab in "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Tweak Settings":

    "Allow users to park subdomains of the server’s hostname."

    Thank you.
     
    Dhaupin and Tarl like this.
  4. pauloray

    pauloray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have the same issue.

    "Allow users to park subdomains of the server’s hostname." = OFF

    Any fix of this one?
     
  5. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If the subdomain you want to add is a subdomain of the domain in the server's hostname, you will need to enable that Tweak setting in order to add the subdomain.
     
  6. domic

    domic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hostname = domain.com
    main domain of user account = user.domain.com

    User can not add subdomain any.user.domain.com now, but it worked before with the option "Allow users to park subdomains of the server’s hostname". It is bad.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you let us know which version of cPanel is installed on your system? Internal case 87857 was included with cPanel version 11.42.1.1 to address the issue you have described.

    Thank you.
     
  8. jmbg

    jmbg Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have the same issue in one user.
    "Allow users to park subdomains of the server’s hostname." = ON
    Cpanel Version WHM 11.42.1 (build 12)
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you provide more details about the issue you are experiencing and how we can reproduce it?

    Thank you.
     
  10. harmsway14

    harmsway14 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have the exact same problem. It's always worked fine before.

    I am running cPanel 11.42.1 (build 12).

    It creates the folder but you can't do any 1-click installs because the subdomain isn't showing up and this is very frustrating because I need it to work.

    Never had a problem before.

    Harmonie
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please feel free to open a support ticket so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  12. squaredd

    squaredd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Same problem here.
    Is there any public patch/fix or should I open a ticket too?
    TY
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please let us know the exact error message you see, and what steps you have taken to resolve the issue thus far.

    Thank you.
     
  14. TheTEK

    TheTEK Registered

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is there a fix for this yet? I am getting the same error.
     
  15. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    As cPanelMichael has already asked...

    Please let us know the exact error message you see, and what steps you have taken to resolve the issue thus far.

    If all everyone is doing is stating that "yes this is happening to me too, is there a fix?" then we unfortunately won't be able to provide a lot of assistance.

    Or open a support request so we can properly investigate.
     
  16. strange guy

    strange guy Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I have the same issue on one of our servers. I get the following error when trying to add new addon domain:

    "You do not have permission to create subdomains of the server’s hostname."

    The same issue with attempts to create new subdomain:

    "There was a problem creating the sub-domain: You do not have permission to create subdomains of the server’s hostname."

    I've just upgraded cPanel to the latest available version in "RELEASE" branch - 11.44.0.18, but the problem persists. Also I am 100% sure that new addon domain absolutely does not match the server's hostname.

    The steps how to reproduce problem:

    1) Logging in cPanel account
    2) Choose Domains >> Addon domains menu
    3) Create new addon domain.

    Here is the part of cpanel error log:

    Code:
    [2014-06-28 10:22:31 -0400] warn [cpanel] Cpanel::Wrap::send_cpwrapd_request The adminbin “domain” in the “Cpanel” namespace call to function “ADD” ended prematurely: The subprocess reported the “EPERM” (1) error when it ended.: namespace=[Cpanel] module=[domain] function=[ADD]: set error in context subdomain: raw_response=[{"status":1,"exit_code":256,"timeout":0,"version":"2.3","error":1,"statusmsg":"The adminbin “domain” in the “Cpanel” namespace call to function “ADD” ended prematurely: The subprocess reported the “EPERM” (1) error when it ended.","action":"run","mode":"simple","data":"You do not have permission to create subdomains of the server’s hostname."}] at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Wrap.pm line 117
    [2014-06-28 10:22:31 -0400] warn [AddonDomain::addaddondomain] Encountered error in AddonDomain::addaddondomain: You do not have permission to create subdomains of the server’s hostname.

    Could you please investigate this issue?

    Also, just a short addition, of course "Allow users to park subdomains of the server’s hostname." option is disabled in Tweak Settings menu. When it is enabled, I can add new addon domain without any problem.
     
  17. strange guy

    strange guy Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just wanted to add one important note. For example the server's hostname is host.domain.com. There is cPanel account with domain.com as main domain. And the problem exists only for this account. So I get the provided above errors when trying to add any addon domain in this account and when trying to add any subdomain under domain.com. I believe cPanel doesn't determines server's hostname correctly. I've checked hostname in Home »Networking Setup »Change Hostname menu and as I mentioned above it is host.domain.com, not domain.com.
     
  18. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look and see if the hostname is configured incorrectly. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  19. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also having same problem. The servers hostname has no resembalance to the addon domain were trying to add. Would mention that on another server this problem did not occur and the setting "Allow users to park subdomains of the server’s hostname" is off on both servers

    Code:
    [2014-07-01 11:16:26 +0000] warn [cpanel] Cpanel::Wrap::send_cpwrapd_request The adminbin “domain” in the “Cpanel” namespace call to function “ADD” ended prematurely: The subprocess reported the “EPERM” (1) error when it ended.: namespace=[Cpanel] module=[domain] function=[ADD]: set error in context subdomain: raw_response=[{"mode":"simple","data":"You do not have permission to create subdomains of the server’s hostname.","status":1,"statusmsg":"The adminbin “domain” in the “Cpanel” namespace call to function “ADD” ended prematurely: The subprocess reported the “EPERM” (1) error when it ended.","error":1,"exit_code":256,"action":"run","timeout":0,"version":"2.3"}] at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Wrap.pm line 117
            Cpanel::Wrap::send_cpwrapd_request('namespace', 'Cpanel', 'module', 'domain', 'function', 'ADD', 'data', 'xxxx xxxxx.com 1 /home/xxxxx/public_html/xxxxx.net', 'action', 'run', 'env', HASH(0x3c81630)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/AdminBin.pm line 105
            Cpanel::AdminBin::adminrun('domain', 'ADD', 'xxxx', 'xxxxxx.com', 1, '/home/xxxx/public_html/xxxx.net') called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/SubDomain.pm line 314
            Cpanel::SubDomain::_addsubdomain('xxxx', 'xxxxx.com', 1, undef, 'public_html/xxxx.net') called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/AddonDomain.pm line 83
            Cpanel::AddonDomain::api2_addaddondomain(__CPANEL_HIDDEN__, __CPANEL_HIDDEN__, __CPANEL_HIDDEN__, __CPANEL_HIDDEN__, __CPANEL_HIDDEN__, __CPANEL_HIDDEN__, __CPANEL_HIDDEN__, __CPANEL_HIDDEN__) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Api2/Exec.pm line 117
            eval {...} called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Api2/Exec.pm line 117
            Cpanel::Api2::Exec::api2_exec('AddonDomain', 'addaddondomain', HASH(0x3bb6360), HASH(0x286af70)) called at cpanel line 994
            main::real_cpexectag('<?cp AddonDomain::addaddondomain(\'% %\',result,reason) newdomain=$FORM{\'domain\'},dir=$FORM{\'dir\'},subdomain=$FORM{\'user\'},pass=$FORM{\'pass\'} ?>') called at cpanel line 4214
            main::dotag_finished_headers(0) called at cpanel line 4031
            main::cpanel_parseblock(__CPANEL_HIDDEN__) called at cpanel line 3945
            main::y(GLOB(0x33e2cc0)) called at cpanel line 5297
            main::run_standard_mode() called at cpanel line 782
     
    #19 kernow, Jul 1, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 1, 2014
  20. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you recently changed your hostname, or was it at some point configured as the individual domain name? Note that internal case number 103121 is open to inquiry about allowing an account to have a root domain of the hostname's FQDN.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page