The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Case 148469] Moving a file to a directory that contains a file with the same name fails

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by delia, Jan 20, 2015.

  1. delia

    delia Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have found in cPanel - across a number of servers - that I can no longer move files as I have in the past. If I want to move files to a subfolder - no problem. If I want to move files from folder 1 to folder 2 and they are both in the root or on the same level, it no longer happens. This is recent and I hope was not intentional as it really reduces the file manager functionality I rely on. If there's something that can be done on a server to re-enable this I can apply it to my own server but I work with clients from all over installing and customizing websites.

    One note - not that I think it makes any difference - but I am uploading a zip file, extracting it and then moving the pieces into place. I have a generic admin folder in the zip but the folders on the website are never named admin so I need to move/copy those files into the correct folder.

    Any insight into this would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might check permissions on the files inside that zip that you're trying to move.

    I'm curious why you mention an admin folder.

    When you test are you using the same zip file?

    I'm unable to duplicate on my end.
     
  3. delia

    delia Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I frequently update a standard installation that comes with an admin folder named admin. The website always has the folder renamed in an existing installation and that name can be anything. I did just go back in and try moving a file from another folder around with no issues.

    I checked and the file and folder permissions are correct when extracted on the server.

    I've been doing this for many years and have never seen this before. I create the zip folder on my computer (windows 8.1) - not online. I've created several varieties of this update since last July but I think the problem started only in the past month or more. The only difference in any of this is that I updated to windows 8.1. I wouldn't think that would change anything. I use winRar for zipping and it's the same one I've had for years.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'll be happy to try and duplicate the issue if I can, but, I'll need exact steps that I can duplicate it with. Forget the website updates files for a moment and try to duplicate this with some other files and folders. Dummy text files and dummy directories for example. Pack it up in a zip, upload and see if you get the same result.

    If you do, share your steps to do it.
     
  5. delia

    delia Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    okay, so I was just in another server and I didn't have the problem. That one is running 11.42.0 (build 23) so it's not updating automatically. My server just updated to 11.46.2 (build 0) so I don't know what it was on before. That makes it look like it is happening with a certain update.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I've got multiple servers on running different versions of cPanel to test on. I did this morning and couldn't duplicate the issue.

    More Info needed here please sir.
     
  7. delia

    delia Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I get an error message (gee, I think this would have been helpful at first. Sorry)

    FileOp Failureon path....
    No such file or directory.

    As I said didn't happen before, now happening on this WHM version.
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi Delia,

    Could you please:
     
  9. delia

    delia Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    and I've already proved it works on other versions of whm, just not on this version. Explain to me why you think I'll get a different reaction with a dummy package? Files are files. I do not get this error on older versions of cPanel.
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You never answered the question, are you proving this using the same zip file each time? And, can you duplicate it with dummy files?

    If you can duplicate it, I can. If I can, I'll open a case about it for you.

    Short of that, please feel free to open a ticket to cPanel Technical Support, directly. Whatever the issue, they can fix it.

    Good luck with this!
     
  11. delia

    delia Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    This has been identified as a problem and they are working on it.
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Who is, cPanel? Could you post the ticket ID here please?


    Thanks!
     
  13. delia

    delia Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    48469 is the number he gave me.
     
  14. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I take it you mean your Hosting Provider.
     
  15. delia

    delia Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    uh, no that's the ticket or case number that cpanel support told me was my issue.
     
  16. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Ah, I see the issue. It's a typo in the ticket ID provided to you. I actual case ID is: 148469


    Thank you for the additional details.
     
  17. tui

    tui Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have the same issue here with same error "fileop failure on no such file or directory" when i try to move files and folders from one folder to other, I had done this hundreds of times in the past without problems now im unable to move files....
     
  18. budway

    budway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Has this been fixed?


    Thanks

    apparently not
     
  19. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There is no update to report at this time no.
     
  20. tui

    tui Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    :( too sad
     
Loading...

Share This Page