The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Case 40055] freshclam not found / ClamAV install runs out memory on 64-bit OS

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by madpato, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. madpato

    madpato Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello

    I'm receiving from cpanel the following email:


    /bin/sh: /usr/bin/freshclam: No such file or directory

    then i logged in and make some searching:

    Nothing like freshclam is found.

    And if i do:

    Then:
    That is a symlink pointing to /usr/bin (which, has nothing like freshclam there)

    I've tried unistalling and reinstalling clamav but i got the same issue.
    Hope you guys can help me, thanks.
     
  2. madpato

    madpato Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    :/

    Wow, it seems nobody knows about this...
     
  3. roba

    roba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Prague, CZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have same problem on a fresh cPanel 11.25.0-R46156 CENTOS 5.5.

    ClamAV was installed via WHM, but the freshclam command is missing and cron is complaining every night.

    Any ideas please?
     
  4. madpato

    madpato Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Wow, not even the cpanel staff answers this... and it seems it's not just me.
     
  5. Zaf

    Zaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Seeing this issue in newly setup boxes only, not on older boxes that are updated.
     
  6. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I checked on a test server, and as you mentioned, /usr/local/bin/freshclam was a symlink to /usr/bin/freshclam:

    Code:
    $ which freshclam
    /usr/local/bin/freshclam
    $ ls -alh /usr/local/bin/freshclam 
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 19 Aug 12  2008 /usr/local/bin/freshclam -> ../../bin/freshclam*
    $ ls -alh /usr/bin/freshclam 
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 248K May 28 22:19 /usr/bin/freshclam*
    Since you said /usr/bin/freshclam does not exist, and reinstalling ClamAV using the Manage Plugins interface in the WebHost Manager did not fix it, please submit a ticket so that we may investigate the problem on your server directly.
     
  7. argh2xxx

    argh2xxx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem for me

    Please tell me how to fix this too! I have the same exact problem as the topic starter had!

    Thanks!
     
  8. Zaf

    Zaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried this on one more box, but was unable to replicate. I think the difference might be 64 bit v/s 32 bit OS, since the box where it won't work is a 64 bit CentOS.

    I will submit a ticket, if you want me to do so.
     
  9. argh2xxx

    argh2xxx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, please submit the ticket! Thanks so much. Ya, my server is running on 64bit OS!
     
  10. ManojB

    ManojB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    pune
    It seems that clamav installation is getting failed. Please check it if the zlib is installed properly. You can install this using the following steps :

    After this is remove clamav from WHM also using the following steps :

    And not install clamav via WHM ... hope this will solve your problem.
     
  11. kosala

    kosala Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    /bin/sh: /usr/bin/freshclam: No such file or directory

    Hi,

    I am receiving emails saying, /bin/sh: /usr/bin/freshclam: No such file or directory

    I installed this via WHM. I would really appreciate if anyone could help me to fix this issue...

    Thanks in advance.

    K
     
  12. Xisco

    Xisco Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The same problem here on a fresh intalled VPS three days ago: :(

    CentOS 5.5 x86_64
    cPanel 11.25.0-R46156
    WHM 11.25.0
    X 3.9
    clamavconnector 0.96.1-2.4
     
  13. Xisco

    Xisco Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I solved it this way.
     
  14. santrix

    santrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Could someone from support confirm if this issue has been raised in an official support ticket or not, as I will submit a ticket if necessary.
     
  15. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check maxmem

    Check the value of maxmem in /var/cpanel/cpanel.config:

    Code:
    # grep maxmem /var/cpanel/cpanel.config
    maxmem=512
    If this value is 256, it needs to be raised, and I recommend raising it to at least 512. If you edit the file directly, remember to run the following command afterward:

    Code:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/whostmgr2 --updatetweaksettings
    Note that editing /var/cpanel/cpanel.config and running the command above is the same as editing the value for The maximum memory a cPanel process can use before it is killed off (in megabytes) in Main >> Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings.

    If the memory limit was 256 or less, and you raised it, try uninstalling and reinstalling ClamAV once more. There is a known issue that causes ClamAV to not install if the maxmem value is too low. A fix for this has been developed and is currently going through the QA process, but at this time there is no timeframe for when it will be released in public builds.
     
  16. santrix

    santrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    That was simple :) 512Mb works for me :)

    As the old adage goes... you can never have enough!

    Thanks Jared!
     
  17. gbh

    gbh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    also seeing this issue on a new centos x64 install
     
  18. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    upgrading memory usage worked here. Might want to have this upgraded by default in future releases
     
  19. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is an active internal case for unsetting the memory limit while installing plugins. There is no estimated timeframe for when it will be implemented, but our developers are aware of the problem this causes and are working to find the best solution.
     
  20. morefood2001

    morefood2001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can confirm that this is still a problem on a freshly installed server this morning. The workaround described worked fine. System: CentOS 5.5 x64 release branch.
     
Loading...

Share This Page