The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[case 47958] Safari Ajax Error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gazpachu, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. gazpachu

    gazpachu Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is the error message im getting when using cpanel in safari.

    Any idea?
     

    Attached Files:

    • .png
      .png
      File size:
      41.8 KB
      Views:
      321
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Kindly check with different browser like Firefox and update if you are facing any issue.
     
  3. gazpachu

    gazpachu Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    With Firefox works fine
     
  4. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
  5. zota

    zota Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel non-functional in Safari

    The linked document claim this is a problem with Safari 4.

    Email Accounts

    This is false. I am unable to use any of the email functions of cPanel in Safari 5.0.1

    This issue also effects the cron job panel. Attempting to edit a cron job gives an ajax error, and seems to delete the current cron settings. Disabling javascript to avoid the ajax error in the cron panel also disables all of the cron editing functions.

    Is there a version or theme of cPanel which 1) works in all modern browsers 2) works with javascript disabled?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I've just tested Safari 4.0.4 and can edit cron and use the password generator without issue here.

    The doc you link to is not necessarily false, but surely out of date.
     
  7. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Please note that the documented reference version is that of Safari 4 BETA, and not that of the final release version. The pre-release BETA of Safari 4 is significantly out-of-date; the latest stable version is Safari 5 at the present time.
     
  8. zota

    zota Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I first noticed this issue in Safari 5.0.1. I am using Safari 5.0.2. Release versions, not beta. I am unable to use the email functions in cPanel due to ajax errors. This may be due to an extension or plugin. I'll try disabling them to troubleshoot. But just to clarify, right now the cPanel email functions do not work at all in my primary browser.

    I notice that there is no longer any documentation at all about this issue on the linked page. Perhaps these links should all be removed, since they will confuse users looking for a solution to cPanel's ajax incompatibility.

    Is there any documentation anywhere about cPanel's ajax failures?

    And my previous question - is there any way to use the functions of cPanel without ajax?
     
  9. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Please escalate this issue via a support request

    What is your cPanel version number? I have attempted to reproduce the described difficulty by performing various tasks via the cPanel areas for E-mail Accounts and also for Cron Jobs, using cPanel version 11.27.114, but I was unable to see any errors, AJAX-related or otherwise, when testing Safari 5.0.2 as well as the nightly Safari WebKit builds, both using Mac OS X 10.6.4 "Snow Leopard."

    Please consider escalating the described difficulty via a support request so that we can properly inspect all surrounding circumstances and investigate the issue further. When available, please let me know your ticket ID number so that we may follow-up internally.

    Attempting to disable JavaScript or remove AJAX may not necessarily alleviate the issue; however, it is possible to perform functions in cPanel by using the available APIs as documented in our developer resources: Developer Resources
     
  10. Hedloff

    Hedloff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    We did updates on all our server earlier this week to: WHM 11.28.45 and are getting a couple new support tickets each day about this error.

    Will there be any fix to this problem soon?
     
  11. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please submit a support ticket on this issue at https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/. We have not been able to replicate this problem (I personally use Safari on my laptop and visit the email page almost daily).

    Thanks
     
  12. akrzystek

    akrzystek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same here, Safari 5.0.3 fails with 'AJAX Failure! I failed 3 times. Please refresh the page and try again.' Other browsers work.

    Cheers
     
  13. Hedloff

    Hedloff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    gazpachu: make a support ticket and refer to support id 1055714. They are unable to reproduce the errors on all our servers and see the problem.
     
  14. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  15. zota

    zota Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Clearing the cache in Safari didn't work - still getting "ajax error" for password strength.

    Looking at the web inspector console in Safari, I see this error when trying to add a new MySQL user:


    Code:
    Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 403 (Forbidden)  passwordstrength.cgi
    
     
  16. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That seems likely to have a different cause. Please submit a ticket about this so we can investigate further.
     
  17. mboylan

    mboylan Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Guys,

    I just wanted to chime in here. I'm a Mac and VoIP sys admin for a university in Pittsburgh. I was sent to this forum/thread from my webhost because I'm having this problem too. I have three macs at home and a few labs at the university that I've tried accessing a few of my accounts on. On all but one of my Macs at home, I have this same AJAX problem and the console displays the same error message that zota displayed above. My host has tried a lot on their end but it's looking like a bug with cPanel. I thought it may have been related to this thread, but I'm certainly clearing the cache properly and haven't made any changes to the way Safari handles caching. FWIW, I'm on OS X 10.6.6, Safari 5.0.3.

    Hopefully this can be resolved with an update. I rarely use Firefox or Chrome but now I have to whenever I'm working with any of my sites that leverage cPanel.

    Thanks.

    Edit: Besides the AJAX error up in the password generator, I'm also unable to see any of my e-mail accounts. Here's a screenshot: http://cl.ly/4fC7
     
    #17 mboylan, Feb 16, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2011
  18. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi mboylan, I can confirm the issue with listing email accounts (seen in your attachment) and the password generator. The pasword generator errors out after you've generated the pass and accepted it.

    I'll open a support ticket about this myself right after I force and update to cPanel here this morning to see if that helps at all. If you want to, please open one as well.

    Tested on CURRENT
     
  19. DCH

    DCH Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Had a client mention this problem to us yesterday. I was able to confirm using Safari 5.0.3 (7533.19.4) on Windows 7.

    Same issues, can't see the current accounts, and the password strength meter doesn't work.

    When using the link for a page with less javascript - the current accounts display.
     
  20. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please provide the cPanel version you are using on the machine:

    Code:
    cat /usr/local/cpanel/version
    Of note, simply indicating STABLE, RELEASE, CURRENT or EDGE would not be enough details for anyone who does post to this thread. This is due to the fact that each tier often has updates and we need to know the specific existing version that your machine is using. For example, right now CURRENT tier is at 11.28.83-CURRENT_51164 and these would be the version details that we would need to know.
     
Loading...

Share This Page