The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Case 50496] backup and restore problems

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by siparker, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. siparker

    siparker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have WHM 11.30
    centos 5.6

    I had backup configured and it seemed to be working ok. setup as ftp to an ovh ftp drive. apparently this can only be accessed by the ip of my server for security etc.

    I today looked ito restoring an account.

    whm > backup > restore backups. There are no accounts in the list

    I have read several other threads which say they must be in the /home directory to appear in this list.

    This is where i am confused. I have a cpbackup/daily/mysitefolder which then contains a lot of info various folders mysql.sql file etc.

    If i move this to the home folder it doesnt appear in the restore list anyway.

    What is goig on here?

    First off i was expecting a cpbackup file probably a tarball to restore not just a folder.



    Second issue. When i now go to configure backups and try to change any settings it always replies with

    No backup directory provided.
    Backup has been disabled to prevent file loss...

    I did get it wto work once when i changed it to standard backup instead of ftp and then changed it back after adding added the same folder name to the ftp backup directory as the backup directory

    cpbackup.png

    but that fails now as well.

    so why dont my backups work?

    Why doesnt my restore work?

    why doesnt the folder selection work?

    why dont my backups have anything useful to be used to restore an account?
     
  2. siparker

    siparker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    just another quick thing i noticed is that the backup notifications stopped last month as well.
     
  3. blocka

    blocka Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm also noticing the same issue WHM 11.30.0 (build 26), despite providing a valid backup directory for my FTP backup, I get message:

    No backup directory provided.
    Backup has been disabled to prevent file loss...
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,449
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If I understand you correctly, you don't place the folder of the backup in /home to restore it, you place the proper backup archive there to be found. E.G. backup-6.5.2011_23-21-03_cPusernamehere.tar.gz

    You want at least a second drive to put backups on, you don't want to create backups on the same drive.
     
  5. siparker

    siparker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i got a bit further. now i have disabled ftp backups the backup cron seems to work again.

    Yes i certainly dont want to be just backing up onto the single hdd. what i wanted to do was to have the ftp backup working but anytime i seem to enable and add a folder name it says its not valid and disables backups.

    Barr adding a second hdd (which i cant really afford) are there any suggestions on how to get ftp working? is it a bug as per the other reply above?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,449
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Still not sure I'm following you, it's Monday though so bear with me. FTP backups do not work for you, or they do but when you change the config it breaks it and FTP backups stop working?

    First thing you want to do is check to make sure that FTP user account is working. For example if you had the FTP server on your home computer you might test it remotely using a tool like this one: Gene6 FTP Server ™ - Online FTP Test

    Once you're sure that user can login and has proper permissions to create and upload files, cPanel backup, when it logs in will create the directories needed itself. You only need to make sure that user can login to the FTP properly.
     
  7. jspierre

    jspierre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I second the FTP backup problem. I was using FTP backup for months and when I upgraded to 11.30 a few days ago, FTP backup stopped working.

    "Standard" backup seems to work properly, but I want to use FTP and everytime I try to save the configuration, no matter what options are selected or unselected, I get

    No backup directory provided.
    Backup has been disabled to prevent file loss...


    Keep in mind that I've changed absolutely nothing in my backup configuration and it was working fine before v11.30. Also, my FTP server is working fine on the receiving end. I've also gotten this error on two different VPS nodes in different datacenters.

    What could be the problem??
     
  8. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For this error when selecting remote FTP:

    We have two internal cases opened about this issue, 49644 for 11.32 and 50496 for 11.30. The case has already been fixed in 11.32 (11.31.0.7). There isn't currently an estimate when case 50496 will be ported to 11.30, since the case was just assigned today for 11.30 builds. If you check the changelog at Change Logs for 11.30, you should be able to see 50496 whenever it has been released into 11.30
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Case 50496 was resolved in 11.30.0.28. To see if this update has propagated to your update tier yet, visit Downloads - cPanel Inc.
     
Loading...

Share This Page