Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

[Case 63364] cptmpdb databases and tables

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by patchwork, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. patchwork

    patchwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Hi

    I have been transferring sites to a new server and for some reason I have started seeing a lot of temporary databases and tables being created.

    All the database names look like this and they all contain 3 tables

    cptmpdb_account_cQzM125hgsaHoLSW
    --- contactgroupmembers
    --- contactgroups
    --- cp_schema_version

    Does anybody know what they are, what they are for or if they can be deleted?


    Pete
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,561
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That looks like tables for horde or roundcube. Please open a support ticket with us so we can determine what is causing this (and help resolve it).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. patchwork

    patchwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    They were all created when I used the multi account feature from WHM.

    After using the script again I noticed it created more and tried to delete them, after seeing that I decided they were probably safe to delete, so I did.
     
  4. Prateek

    Prateek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I can see the same database with data restore done from backup hard disk

    can some 1 please confirm its not risky to delete this database
     
  5. JeffP.

    JeffP. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Another customer has reported this issue today on our helpdesk, and the problem was that the Horde password stored in the /var/cpanel/hordepass file contained a newline, which prevented authentication to the Horde db. As such, when an account was restored on the server, a db at /var/lib/mysql/cptmpdb_${USER}_${RANDOMSTUFF} would remain.

    It is not clear how the file had a newline. I'm going to open a case about this with our developers now.

    To resolve this issue, I simply echoed the password back into the file, but without a newline:

    Code:
    [root@host ~]# cat /var/cpanel/hordepass
    passwordhere
    [root@host ~]
    
    [root@host ~]# echo -n passwordhere > /var/cpanel/hordepass
    [root@host ~]
    
    This is how it should look without the newline:

    Code:
    [root@host ~]# cat /var/cpanel/hordepass
    passwordhere[root@host ~]
    
    Then after restoring an account, I verified that there were no authentication errors to the Horde db, and that no temporary cptmpdb_ database remained.

    Also, in my testing, it is safe to remove the temporary cptmpdb_ MySQL databases.
     
  6. JeffP.

    JeffP. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I have filed case ID # 63364 with our developers regarding this issue. We hope to hear an update soon.

    Thanks!
     
  7. Prateek

    Prateek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    hello

    i would like to add some information to this issue

    i found out that if you terminate such account account get terminated but website function remains normal
     
  8. jamesterror

    jamesterror Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    We're having the same issue with Remote SQL when restoring backyps - do the passwords on both servers for Horde have to be identical? It seems like every time we restore a user the error rather than create the database it creates a cptmpdb entry.

    Thanks,
    James
     
  9. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,561
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The passwords cPanel & WHM use to maintain Horde must the same across all servers when using a centralized MySQL server. These passwords are stored in /var/cpanel/hordepass
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. jamesterror

    jamesterror Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Kenneth,

    Would any services (EXIM) require to be restarted in order for this to work as when I type "cat /var/cpanel/hordepass" in console after updating the conf.php file it still shows the old pass?

    Thanks,
    James
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice