The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Case 63364] cptmpdb databases and tables

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by patchwork, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. patchwork

    patchwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi

    I have been transferring sites to a new server and for some reason I have started seeing a lot of temporary databases and tables being created.

    All the database names look like this and they all contain 3 tables

    cptmpdb_account_cQzM125hgsaHoLSW
    --- contactgroupmembers
    --- contactgroups
    --- cp_schema_version

    Does anybody know what they are, what they are for or if they can be deleted?


    Pete
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That looks like tables for horde or roundcube. Please open a support ticket with us so we can determine what is causing this (and help resolve it).
     
  3. patchwork

    patchwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    They were all created when I used the multi account feature from WHM.

    After using the script again I noticed it created more and tried to delete them, after seeing that I decided they were probably safe to delete, so I did.
     
  4. Prateek

    Prateek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can see the same database with data restore done from backup hard disk

    can some 1 please confirm its not risky to delete this database
     
  5. JeffP.

    JeffP. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Another customer has reported this issue today on our helpdesk, and the problem was that the Horde password stored in the /var/cpanel/hordepass file contained a newline, which prevented authentication to the Horde db. As such, when an account was restored on the server, a db at /var/lib/mysql/cptmpdb_${USER}_${RANDOMSTUFF} would remain.

    It is not clear how the file had a newline. I'm going to open a case about this with our developers now.

    To resolve this issue, I simply echoed the password back into the file, but without a newline:

    Code:
    [root@host ~]# cat /var/cpanel/hordepass
    passwordhere
    [root@host ~]
    
    [root@host ~]# echo -n passwordhere > /var/cpanel/hordepass
    [root@host ~]
    
    This is how it should look without the newline:

    Code:
    [root@host ~]# cat /var/cpanel/hordepass
    passwordhere[root@host ~]
    
    Then after restoring an account, I verified that there were no authentication errors to the Horde db, and that no temporary cptmpdb_ database remained.

    Also, in my testing, it is safe to remove the temporary cptmpdb_ MySQL databases.
     
  6. JeffP.

    JeffP. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have filed case ID # 63364 with our developers regarding this issue. We hope to hear an update soon.

    Thanks!
     
  7. Prateek

    Prateek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hello

    i would like to add some information to this issue

    i found out that if you terminate such account account get terminated but website function remains normal
     
  8. jamesterror

    jamesterror Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    We're having the same issue with Remote SQL when restoring backyps - do the passwords on both servers for Horde have to be identical? It seems like every time we restore a user the error rather than create the database it creates a cptmpdb entry.

    Thanks,
    James
     
  9. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The passwords cPanel & WHM use to maintain Horde must the same across all servers when using a centralized MySQL server. These passwords are stored in /var/cpanel/hordepass
     
  10. jamesterror

    jamesterror Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Kenneth,

    Would any services (EXIM) require to be restarted in order for this to work as when I type "cat /var/cpanel/hordepass" in console after updating the conf.php file it still shows the old pass?

    Thanks,
    James
     
Loading...

Share This Page