The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Case 72777] Pruning Remote Backups Fails

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by LAZer, Aug 1, 2013.

  1. LAZer

    LAZer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    at net :D
    hi , i have changed my legacy backup to the new backup system ,
    i have 3 days per week enabled , retain 2 backups , and monthly backup is enabled . also backup system configurations is enabled.

    in my remote ftp server it backups the files successfully. the problem is that it doesn't delete the old daily backups and my backup space fills with duplicate files every week.

    i have 2 directories in monthly , 08.01 and 07.15 ,
    and 8 directories in the directory of backups , for daily backups .

    so now i have 10 copies of server backups without it deleting the old backups.

    in the log of backup i dont see any remove , delete , rm , log lines. how can i fix this problem ?

    also it is storing configuration backup files in /backup instead of the directory i set for backups.
    and also why can't us send configuration backups to another servers ? is it security related reason for this?
     
    #1 LAZer, Aug 1, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2013
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Check to see if the following option is enabled in "WHM Home » Backup » Backup Configuration":

    "Retain backups in the default backup directory."

    Per it's description:

    This option will keep backups in the default local backup directory even after the backups have been transferred to another destination. If this option is not selected, backups will be deleted after being moved to another destination.

    Is the storage location issue on the remote FTP server or the local server? Could you clarify the specific type of data you are referring to when you mention "configuration backups"?

    Thank you.
     
  3. LAZer

    LAZer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    at net :D
    my problem is the same as this post :
    http://forums.cpanel.net/f49/new-backup-questions-357191.html

    on local server backup is working fine , but on remote ftp it doesnt delete the old backup directories.
    it should save only 2 copies but there are more that 10 copies on the remote ftp server now.

    also in the log of
    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup_transporter.log

    i see some errors both for timeout and some other errors that says directory is not empty !
    so it tries to delete but as the old backup files are still there it cant delete the directory.

     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket so we can take a closer look?

    Submit A Ticket

    This is similar to an issue reported on internal case 72777, but it's better that we investigate it directly.

    Thank you.
     
  5. LAZer

    LAZer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    at net :D
    i still have this problem , and ticket id is: 4335297

    on the other similiar topic they said that the problem is with the remote server ftp permissions.
    but in my case , that remote ftp server was working fine with backup deletion in the old backup system.
    with the new backup system i don't see any tries for deleting the previous directories in the log.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To update, this was determined to be related to an internal case where pruning remote backups can fail when the FTP directory listing format is different than expected. For reference, the case number is 72777.

    Thank you.
     
  7. bruceleeon

    bruceleeon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What was the resolution for this? I have the same affliction/.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Case 72777 seeks to address an issue where pruning remote backups can fail when the FTP directory listing format is different than expected. This case is still open at this time, and there is currently no time frame available for a resolution.

    Thank you.
     
  9. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Michael: What is the URL for this case?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Our cases are internal. You can monitor the change log to determine when a resolution has been released:

    cPanel - Change Log

    Thank you.
     
  11. johnburk

    johnburk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Has this been fixed? Remote backups do not get deleted, despite the setting to only keep them for 4 days.
     
  12. LAZer

    LAZer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    at net :D
    not yet ,
    now i even installed a new vps for my backups , i configured it myself , installed zpanel in it , the old backup system ( legacy ) works just fine , but new backup system , creates and sends backup to remote ftp space but cannot delete the uploaded backups from remote server.
    seems that it doesnt simply delete with a command like rm , it checks some size or date before deleting and something is changing that it cannot detect and delete the uploaded files.
    use legacy backup as the support suggested it to me too .
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  14. johnburk

    johnburk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Too bad this has not been fixed.

    For me the problem with the legacy backup is that it is very slow. The legacy backup can take up to 12 hours to backup less than 30GB of compressed data, while the new one takes about 4 hours.

    The problem with the current cannot delete bug is that if you have limited external backup space, the new backups will fail due to limited disk space.
     
  15. preylude

    preylude Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    To add to info for your internal case, I'm backing up 3 different CPanel servers with the new backup system to the same FTP.
    1. They all just retain one day and have the exact same backup configuration
    2. They are all deleting the previous ones properly
    3. One server just started sending a nightly email on Mar 5:
    Subject: [backup] Backup transport errors on (server address)
    The following errors occurred while transporting your backup files:
    Unable to prune transport “(transport name)”
    4. NOTE: The backup still worked fine -- ie. it deleted the previous day

    Server with the error: CENTOS 5.9 i686 virtuozzo – WHM 11.42.0 (build 19)
    Server with no errors: CENTOS 5.8 i686 virtuozzo – WHM 11.42.0 (build 19)
    Server with no errors: CENTOS 5.10 i686 xenpv – WHM 11.42.0 (build 19)
     
  16. justinkas

    justinkas Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    WHM 11.42.0 (build 22)

    I too have started having these issues about a week and a half ago. I have had my cPanel/WHM server up for about a year and have just started getting nightly error emails about backups to my offsite FTP cold storage location as follows:

    [backup] Backup transport errors on 'server name'

    The following errors occurred while transporting your backup files: Unable to prune transport “Server Storage (my FTP storage name)”

    and:

    The following errors occurred while transporting your backup files:

    Unable to send “/backup/2014-03-16/system_files.tar” to destination “Server Storage”
    Unable to send “/backup/2014-03-16/system_files.tar” to destination “Server Storage”
    Unable to send “/backup/2014-03-16/accounts/glzzth.tar.gz” to destination “Server Storage”
    Unable to send “/backup/2014-03-16/accounts/glzzth.tar.gz” to destination “Server Storage”
    Unable to send “/backup/2014-03-16/accounts/glzzth.tar.gz” to destination “Server Storage”
    Unable to send “/backup/2014-03-16/accounts/glzzth.tar.gz” to destination “Server Storage”
    Unable to prune transport “Server Storage”
    Unable to prune transport “Server Storage”

    This is a nightly error...Thanks!
     
  17. johnburk

    johnburk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I found out that it does delete some files but the gives up. Is it possible to setup a cron job where rather than trying 1x a day, it can try to do it every hour?
     
  18. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A resolution for case 72777 is included as of cPanel version 11.42.1.1. This version is currently only released to the "Current" and "Edge" build tiers, but it's expected to make it's way to the "Release" and "Stable" build tiers in the coming weeks.

    Thank you.
     
  19. Cloud9

    Cloud9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm on 11.42.1 (Build 6) and have this same problem
     
  20. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page