Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Caught SIGTERM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Game Master, Dec 12, 2006.

  1. Game Master

    Game Master Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Greetings,

    Once in awhile I get the Caught SIGTERM in my logs where apache restarts.

    Some days ago I removed ALL extra scripts and just have one forum running,
    so I know it cannot be a memory issue. I looked at both the domlogs and logs
    folders for the time of the restart and neither shows anything unusual.

    My host support said:

    So I replied: So how can I prevent these spontaneous restarts?

    That does not seem realistic - any tips?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I've seen this happen if you have either SIM or monit installed on the server. They both clash with chkservd and if you have either installed you should remove them or reconfigure them not to restart services.

    I would definitely not recommend removing httpd monitoring from chkservd.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Game Master

    Game Master Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thanks for your reply. Will disabling these to not restart services cause other problems if a restart is really need, for example a crash?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No, because chkservd will restart them
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Game Master

    Game Master Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thanks again, I have verified that these programs are neither running or installed, what else could be the solution?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice