The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Caught SIGTERM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Game Master, Dec 12, 2006.

  1. Game Master

    Game Master Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Greetings,

    Once in awhile I get the Caught SIGTERM in my logs where apache restarts.

    Some days ago I removed ALL extra scripts and just have one forum running,
    so I know it cannot be a memory issue. I looked at both the domlogs and logs
    folders for the time of the restart and neither shows anything unusual.

    My host support said:

    So I replied: So how can I prevent these spontaneous restarts?

    That does not seem realistic - any tips?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I've seen this happen if you have either SIM or monit installed on the server. They both clash with chkservd and if you have either installed you should remove them or reconfigure them not to restart services.

    I would definitely not recommend removing httpd monitoring from chkservd.
     
  3. Game Master

    Game Master Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your reply. Will disabling these to not restart services cause other problems if a restart is really need, for example a crash?
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No, because chkservd will restart them
     
  5. Game Master

    Game Master Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks again, I have verified that these programs are neither running or installed, what else could be the solution?
     

Share This Page