The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

centos 6 upgrade - dns new account prob

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by jobe, Apr 19, 2012.

  1. jobe

    jobe Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi.
    After having my vps upgraded from centos 4 > 6 all the exisiting accounts seem to be fine.
    The nameservers look fine - ns1.mysite.com & ns2.mysite.com (in that order in 'Nameserver ip's'

    But when I create a new account I get the following:

    In the new account creation:
    DNS Settings
    Enable DKIM on this account
    Enable SPF on this account (v=spf1 +a +mx +ip4:64.131.75.42 ?all)
    Use the nameservers specified at the Domain's Registrar
    (ignore locally specified nameservers)
    Overwrite any existing DNS zones for the account

    Nameservers: ns2.mysite.com
    ns1.mysite.com

    And then when the account is created:

    | NameServer1: ns2.mysite.com
    | NameServer2: ns1.mysite.com

    The nameservers are appearing in the wrong order & I can't connect to the new account.

    Any help would be appreciated - thanks.
     
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Did you change IP addresses of nameservers with upgrade OR the IP addresses are same as previously?

    If IP addresses have been changed then you need to update nameservers IP addresses in child nameservers with your domain name registrar of your domain name.
     
  3. jobe

    jobe Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for getting back to me.
    The nameservers are the same - all existing accounts working fine - it's seems it's just account creation that's appearing wrong.
     
  4. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    There is nothing to do with nameservers order. Is this a brand new domain name you are trying to add in WHM? Are you able to open new account after creating using temporary URL?

    If you are able to open it up using temporary URL then it may be a DNS propagation issue.
     
  5. jobe

    jobe Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, this is a new domain name & new account - I registered the domain.
    My tech tells me:
    The real issue what was causing DNS for the domain to not work is there was an issue with the named.conf file which was preventing any newly added entries from working as named was unable to reload itself.

    So I can connect to the site.

    Thanks very much for your help.
     
  6. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    You are welcome!

    I am glad to know that your issue has been resolved. Also, thanks for sharing actual problem though! :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page