Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Centos partitions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by popeye, Apr 4, 2019.

  1. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi got to put some new cPanel servers online and not done it for a few years :( the server will have Centos 7 with cPanel and cloudlinux. Server specs below what i want to know is what are the best partitions to have on this spec of server. I was told centos 7 default is /boot --> 1 GB
    swap --> same as RAM or 1.5 times the RAM.
    / --> remaining space.

    The 250GB SSD will be for boot.

    Processors: E5-2430 V2
    Memory: 96GB
    Hard Disk: 1x 250GB Hynix SSD + 1x 250Gb SSD + 2x 2TB SATA HDD 7200rpm 3.5"
    Hardware RAID Config: RAID 1 + RAID 1
    OS: CentOS 7
     
  2. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The default is really fine where you put all your space on /, but having two small SSD's up front does make this a bit of a challenge. If it were me, I would probably RAID1 those two SSD drives and RAID the two SATA drives and partition like this:

    sda=SSD raid1
    sdb=SATA RAid1

    sda1 - /boot 500M
    sda2 - SWAP 4G
    sda3 - /tmp 2G
    sda4 - / rest of array
    sdb1 - /home
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I thought swap was meant to be swap --> same as RAM or 1.5 times the RAM. ? and hte server had 96Gb

    What's /home.QUOTE

    The SSD drive will be just for the operating system. below is how my old servers are setup. but i do need a partition for backups

    /tmp 4Gb
    /var 200Gb
    /usr 100Gb
    /home what's left
    /
    /boot 2Gb
    /var/tmp 4Gb
     
  4. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    For swap anything over 4gb is a total waste. With 96 GB ram you should never even be using swap really unless something is badly misconfigured.

    /home is where your user data (other than databases) are stored.

    The way I have this your OS files and databases will run off the ssd array and your user data (php, html, email) would be stored on the SATA array.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #4 GOT, Apr 5, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2019
    cPanelLauren likes this.
  5. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry lost me know
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,466
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    What are you lost on? Maybe we can clarify?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I edited my post, phone auto correct got me in a couple of places. Changes are underlined. If you are still lost, please elaborate on what we can clear up for you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think the OS files all run off the SSD and nothing else
     
  9. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes, in the set up I laid out, all the OS files would run off the SSD. As would the user database files which would really be prefereable performance wise and since you have enough room for them there.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am not sure if /var runs off the SSD on the server i have now becasue it's 150Gb and the boot drive for the OS is only 120Gb how can i check what runs off the SSD and SATA on the servers i have now.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice