The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Centos really like RHE?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CoolMike, Sep 20, 2004.

  1. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi

    I installed Centos 3.3 today, before I just had RHE 3 servers. I just realized, that Apache and Exim is not working at all. Is this, because cpanel is not ready yet for the 3.3 version, or are there any problems with Contos?

    Thanks
    Michael
     
  2. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    CENTOS ... hmm dont know.. check the main page of cpanel..

    I just checked.. quoted directly from the main page of cpanel

    'CentOS 3, 3.1'
     
  3. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    v3.3 is just out today. I would not expect cPanel to support it that quickly. cPanel does check to see what OS it is on BTW.

    From the CentOS webpage:

    =============
    Known Problems:
    OpenOffice does not function without openoffice.org-i18n installed. We believe this is NOT unique to centos but consistent with RHEL3U3 functionality.

    On the ISO's, comps.rpm does not have the correct hdlists in place for cd support from redhat-config-packages. This should be fixed before long. However, it was not practical to re-roll the isos for this.

    An updated comps package will be released which fixes this problem. In addition, a few errors in packages listed in the comps.xml file will be corrected.

    yum: yum 2.0.8 did not know about the ia32e or nocona processors so it cannot install those kernels on x86_64 systems using those chips. A future version of yum will correct this.
    ==============


    And perhaps the best line of all:

    ==============
    Quotation of the day:

    As with any large scale update such as this, you should have a box you can use to *test* the updates on before rolling into production. Either that or wait it out a couple of weeks and see how us lab rats react. :P

    Beau Henderson, on Monday, 20 September 2004
    ==============
     
  4. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Explain "not working", give us some more details. U3 is quite a big step up from U2 ( not the band the release ppl ), so its bound to have issues.
     
  5. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    My CentOS servers were upgraded to 3.3 by yum last night as I slept...
    No problems here...yet. :cool:
     
  6. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Casey, have you booted into the new kernel as of yet ?
     
  7. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Did that just now. No problems.
     
    #7 casey, Sep 20, 2004
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2004
  8. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Coolmike,

    If it's just apache and exim that aren't working, I would suggest running the following scripts:

    /scripts/easyapache (to fix apache)
    /scripts/exim4 (to fix exim)

    I bet apache 2.0 is installed right now. There might be an unusable exim version installed as well. Now that I have rebooted I'm pretty sure everything is going to work okay.
     
  9. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    i manually upgraded mine just then. all works well.
     
  10. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I've upgraded by test server last night too (with new kernel) and no problems.
     
  11. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Did you knowingly set OS upgrades on autoupdate? It seems a bit risky to me, especially while you're sleeping :)
     
  12. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Nope. That was unwittingly. I'll be changing that in the near future. :)
     
  13. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thats what I did and it works now.

    Thanks
    Michael
     
  14. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38

    what did you do to upgrade kernel using yum ?

    what is the kernel provided with 3.3 ?


    Thank you!
     
  15. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    with red hat I was using

    up2date -u -f kernel

    with centos/yum what to do ?

    Thank you!
     
  16. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Well, the way I have it set up the kernel gets downloaded and installed automatically (reboot is manual, of course).

    But to upgrade the kernel manually I believe you can do:

    # yum upgrade kernel

    The latest kernel is 2.4.21-20.EL.c0
     
  17. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Unless you have it explictly stated in your yum conf not to install the kernel, it will be installed for you during yums nightly run with upcp. To double check:
    rpm -qa | grep kernel
    OR
    yum list installed | grep kernel
     
  18. harrisliu

    harrisliu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am going to install a new server in these few days. As CentOS 3.3 is not yet certified for Cpanel, should I install CentOS 3.1 and let the guy in cpanel licencing.net install cpanel for me first before doing yum update? or install CentOS 3.3 direct and let those guy install cpanel as usual?
     
  19. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
  20. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38

    I executed
    #yum list installed | grep kernel

    and I received
    kernel i686 2.4.21-20.EL.c0 db

    however when I execute
    # uname -a

    I receive
    myhostname.net 2.4.21-15.0.4.EL #1 Wed Aug 4 01:52:46 EDT 2004 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux


    I have grub , what to do to set 2.4.21-20.EL.c0 instead of 2.4.21-15.0.4.EL ?

    Thank you!
     
Loading...

Share This Page