The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

centOS Stall On cPanel Install

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by UnrealHelix, Mar 27, 2005.

  1. UnrealHelix

    UnrealHelix Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Linux detected!
    cPanel Layer 1 Installer Init.....
    Warning !!! Warning !!! WARNING !!! Warning !!! Warning
    -------------------------------------------------------
    cPanel requires a fresh/clean server!
    If you are serving websites off this server (and are
    not already running cPanel) this installer will
    overwrite all of your config files. You should hit
    Ctrl+C NOW!!!
    If this is a new server please ignore this messages
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Warning !!! Warning !!! WARNING !!! Warning !!! Warning
    Waiting 5 seconds.....
    Done
    This install will take 10-70 minutes depending on your hardware.
    Now is the time to go get another cup of coffee/jolt.
    The install will log to /var/log/cpanel-install-thread0.log.
    and /var/log/cpanel-install-thread1.log.
    Repairing OS Problems....Done
    Installing Default resolv.conf....Done
    Installing Support Libs.
    Unable to find pid
    Gathering header information file(s) from server(s)
    Server: Centos-3 - i386/i686 - Addons


    ^^^ It seems to of got stuck is it ment to take a long time on this bit? been a while now!
    any ideas anyone
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Has it been longer that it says it will be??
     
  3. UnrealHelix

    UnrealHelix Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Server: Centos-3 - i386/i686 - Addons
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://linux.mirrors.layeredtech.com/centos/3/addons/i386/headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/caoslinux/centos-3/3/addons/i386/headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://www.gtlib.cc.gatech.edu/pub/cAos/centos-3/3/addons/i386/headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    Server: Centos-3 - i386/i686 - Base


    ^^^ i guess the mirror's are down?
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    With CentOS you do need to make sure that you install the GPG Key before installing cPanel - just incase you didn't.
     
  5. UnrealHelix

    UnrealHelix Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    sorted it now i also updated mirrors in yum.conf.

    but seems to have stoped on "Resolving Dependencies" on Cent0S-3 Updates. 1st time doing this so a bit of a newbie.


    should i just be patient. as havn't done this before so im unsure of loading/update times.
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Be patient to a point, I had one server during an upgrade that sat there for about 20-30 minutes.
     
  7. UnrealHelix

    UnrealHelix Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    doing cpanel update but it got to a stage where it just doing


    ........
    ........
    ........
    ........
    ........
    ........
    ........
    ........
    ........
    ........

    etc etc

    its at 70% Complete

    been doing this for an hour now and still going, is this correct?

    and thanks for replys.
     
  8. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Let it keep running for awhile. Especially since you are still getting the ... it is still going.
     
Loading...

Share This Page