Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

CentOS version mismatch?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Un Area, May 10, 2018.

  1. Un Area

    Un Area Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hi I have a vps that is running virtuozzo.
    I have cpanel 68.0.38 and i did a yum -y update to update system files.

    Ok all was installed ok, /etc/centos-release says that I have Centos 7.5

    On Whm says that the system requires a reboot to apply the changes. I did the reboot but WHM shows centos 7.4 at the top. Why is that?

    All is running ok, but version is not showed correctly.

    Thank you
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    What is the output of below command:
    # cat /var/cpanel/sysinfo.config
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Un Area


    @24x7server is on the right track and to build on that if /var/cpanel/sysinfo.config does not show the correct os version I would suggest doing the following:

    Rename the sysinfo.config file to sysinfo.config.bk with this:
    Code:
    mv /var/cpanel/sysinfo.config{,.bk}
    Regenerate the sysinfo.config file:
    Code:
    /scripts/gensysinfo
    And let us know if that doesn't resolve the issue.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Un Area

    Un Area Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hi this is my info at

    cat /var/cpanel/sysinfo.config
    # This values in this file are calculated and updated if necessary nightly. If you wish to override
    # these values, populate lock= with a comma delimited list of keys you don't want updated.
    # This will allow you to change those values to suit your needs.
    #
    # Example: if you set lock like this, then rpm_dist and rpm_arch will not be updated nightly:
    # lock=rpm_dist,rpm_arch
    #
    ises=2
    lock=
    release=7.5
    rpm_arch=x86_64
    rpm_dist=centos
    rpm_dist_ver=7

    Seems that is showing 7.5, but WHM shows 7.4 (pic attached)

    Thanks again
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @unarea

    That's interesting, can you go ahead and take the steps I suggested earlier and let me know if there's any change in WHM after closing it out and reopening it?

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Un Area

    Un Area Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I renamed the sysinfo.config file and run /scripts/gensysinfo but still showing centos 7.4 o_O weird.
    Logged out and in, and is still showing the old version.
    Is there other place I should check?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Un Area

    Un Area Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Now its showing ok! I did a /scripts/restartsrv_cpsrvd
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Un Area

    Un Area Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    weird, because there was a server reboot after the yum update and that basically reboots every service. Maybe some catched file somewhere else.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @unarea

    I think you're most likely correct, I'm glad you got it resolved though!


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice