The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Centos works really *fine* with Cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Radio_Head, Aug 20, 2004.

  1. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hello

    recently I upgraded my 2 servers RH 7.2 and RH 7.3 to Centos 3.1 OS (centos.org) .
    It works fine . The upgrade (thanks to Zach of lifelesspeople.com) was not a problem with RH 7.3 , while required some more work with 7.2 . The total downtime was really low , especially due to 3 or 4 reboots .


    After some month running outdated RH 7.2 and RH 7.3 servers , with boring Progeny updates , and rare fedoralegacy updates , now I am really happy to have
    my 2 boxes with Centos 3.1 , running fine and updated .
    If you don't need Red Hat support , I strongly suggest Centos with Cpanel
    http://www.centos.org . Centos doesn't provide any kind of support or documentation such as red hat, but it's FREE .

    Thanks again to to Zach of lifelesspeople.com .
     
  2. erwinfa

    erwinfa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How many hours need to upgrade from Redhat 7.3 into CentOS 3.1 ? Do you have step by step tutorials ?
     
  3. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I have no tutorial , also if I have seen some "how to" on forum (ev1 if I can remember)
    However I preferred to assign this task to a linux expert (Zach , see above).
    You can find zach on cpanel irc very often.

    About 3 hours to upgrade the 7.3 (7.3 > 8.0 > 9.0 > Centos) on my P4 1.7 Ghz server with 1 GB RAM, however the system was often available during the upgrade. I think that in 3 hours the system was not available for max 30 minutes (total , no continuos) , especially due to reboots.

    With the 7.2 pentium 3 1 GB ram , he had more more problems (and more downtime) , however the problems were especially due to my /usr which was 80% full before upgrading. So he had to stop and repeat the installation after he created symlinks of /usr/lib on /home .Time required to upgrade 7.2 was 5 or 6 hours , and the total downtime was 30 minutes or less . During latest step (rh 9 to centos) apache showed the test apache page for all accounts (it didn't happen upgrading 7.3) . At the end of the upgrade I needed to reinstall 3 rpms via whm , quote ,sysstat , and iptable . I also disabled apm service which was started from centos (only with 7.2 installation).



    At the end all works really fine and perfect.
     
    #3 Radio_Head, Aug 20, 2004
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2004
  4. LP-Trel

    LP-Trel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nirvana
    I goofed the 7.2 install a bit but, the 7.3 went well. Glad to see your boxes are working well once again, that 2 year old kernel on the 7.3 box didn't suit you. ;)
     
  5. denisdekat09

    denisdekat09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Hi, thanks for the encouraging word and tale of your upgrading experience :)

    I have been trying rh7.3 to rh9 and rh9 to centos on some home linux boxes and it seems pretty straight forward.

    Did you really do (7.3 > 8.0 > 9.0 > Centos) ? It seems like 8 is not necessary maybe? I was able to bypass it. I used apt-get to move from 7.3 to 9. Next yum for centos...

    I am planning on doing a production box soon, I also have a 7.3 though my kernel is not 2 years old :D

    I am curious how the Cpanel part of the upgrade went, was that tricky at all?
     
  6. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    My kernel was not 2 years old , I think LifelessHost was exagerate :) , let's say 3 or 4 month old . Regarding (7.3 > 8.0 > 9.0 > Centos) I am not sure , you have to ask to
    LifelessHost .

    Bye
     
  7. dennis00

    dennis00 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for posting! I will try CentOS too :)
     
  8. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    Yeah thanks radio-head , will go for centOS on my next box as well !
    Been fiddling with it on my test machine and having a good old time :D
     
  9. asmar

    asmar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Anyone tried to switch from Red Hat ES 3 to CentOS ?
     
  10. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    CentOS is Redhat Enterprise 3... just with the copyrighted redhat logos removed.

    Edit: ...and without Redhat support as well.
     
    #10 dezignguy, Nov 14, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2004
  11. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    as of now 0 problems with centos (2 boxes).

    Bye
     
  12. Aric1

    Aric1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The upgrade process is easy (so long as you don't run into any issues along the way, but as long as your server is clean and working properly and fully updated BEFORE starting, you should be OK) and typically only requires a single reboot. Your server continues to function fine during the upgrade process, though slower servers might have a bit of a load issue while the upgrade is going on. As noted, CPANEL works fine with CentOS. Anyone using older unsupported RH releases should consider it.
     
  13. iCARus

    iCARus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yep...CentOS rocks! We use v3.3 and everything run smoothly!
     
  14. Ramsy

    Ramsy Guest

    same here .. using v3.3 works perfect :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page