The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Certificate error while visiting myip:2087 and myip:2083 : please help a vps newbie

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by trucmuche, Jan 26, 2015.

1. trucmuche

trucmuche Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello !

I'm a VPS newbie and I'm new under WHM&CPanel. I just received the access codes to my brand new VPS and when I visit https://93.221.46.36:2087 or :2083 (*), I get a warning telling me that the certificate is invalid.

I read around and found that I could make in WHM a self-signed SSL certificate but I read that this solution wouldn't hide definitely this warning message. Thus it's not a real good solution.

I understood that the real solution would be to buy a SSL certificate from a certificate authority.
    Can I use STARTSSL to generate a valid certificate (one-year validity but I could renew it each year) ? This is free (and I don't have much money to spend to just make a message disappear)...

Could you help me and tell me if this is a solution ?

Thank you very much for your help !!

Trucmuche

(*) I modified my real IP address ;-)

2. dalem

dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    1. you need to force ports 2083, 2087. & 2096 to redirect to the hostname in tweak settings. IP address cant be certified by a CA
    2. the only way you are going to get rid of the error is to buy a certificate there is no way around it
    "StartSSL are Ok for things like internal use and non-customer use. They're a bit sketchy with some browsers and mobile devices

3. trucmuche

trucmuche Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you very much for your answer !!