Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cgi-bin not found from http

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tiggerific, Sep 21, 2004.

  1. tiggerific

    tiggerific Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi all, I'm hoping someone is able to help. I have one account out of about 40 that were transferred to a new VPS that is having a cgi-bin problem.

    I can view the contents of the cgi-bin folder from FTP, from the cpanel File Manager, from SSH in the directory listings, etc. But If I http://domain.com/cgi-bin/ it always reports "Page not found". I'm sure there's an alias or something missing somewhere but I honestly can't find it.

    Anyone got any ideas?

    PS: I'm fairly new to SSH commands, so if you offer some help, could you please put the "whole" command :eek: Thanks.

    Robyn.
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    the cgi-bin seems not copied. Try creating a cgi-bin folder in any of the domain and check.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. tiggerific

    tiggerific Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks, but as I said, the cgi-bin folder is there in the /HOME/USERNAME directory. In fact, I can even FTP files to it, and view it fine from the file manager within cPanel. What I can't do is display any of the files or folders within it using a http: request. For example, the file admin.cgi is in the ADMIN folder of the CGI-BIN. But when I go to http://domain.com/cgi-bin/admin/admin.cgi I get a Page Not Found error. Not a 500 error, just a regular 404. And it's definitely there. So if there's any other ideas would be much appreciated.
     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    well.. it should be inside: /home/username/public_html folder and NOT /home/username/.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. tiggerific

    tiggerific Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Australia
    Sorry I was just trying to do a quick reply and wasn't thinking clearly. What I'm trying to say is the folder already exists.

    It is in /HOME/USERNAME/PUBLIC_HTML/CGI-BIN.

    The point is, I can't view it from the web, but I can from everywhere else. And my other 48 accounts do not have this problem.
     
  6. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    191
    Are you missing the script alias line in httpd.conf?
     
  7. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    but casey; even then shouldn't it show the cgi-bin folder if taken as http://domainname.com/cgi-bin/
    just taking it as a folder under the public_html folder
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    191
    I don't know. I'm too lazy to check. :)

    I think if you have Options -ExecCGI in the virtualhost that might cause this behavior, too.
     
  9. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i will try some experiments :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice