The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CGI (hit counter problem)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by raquii, Jun 3, 2004.

  1. raquii

    raquii Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    I have gone to the document explaination CGI script...
    found this info in my control panel with more detailed directions mentioned later on in the documentation...
    OK, so here's my problem:
    I copied the html code that was produced for me and pasted it in my frontpage after I published it, it still did not come out right. What am I doing wrong?
    Please see how it's came out at the bottom of my page located here: http://raquela.com
    Can any one instruct me on the process with a little more detail?
    Thank you.
     
  2. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You need to paste that code into the source, or code of the page, not directly into the page. You also need to make sure that the file you are referencing there exists in the cgi-bin directory.
     
  3. raquii

    raquii Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    thank you for your reply back B12Org
    that's exsactly what i did. the text you see in place of where the counter should be was palced in the code page but still come out as the text you see there.
    please explain this. i do not understand. i went to my cin-bin but i have no idea what file or what kind of file of what i'm suppose to upload into it. i appoligize for this, but i do need full details on how to do all this. thank you.
     
  4. raquii

    raquii Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    is anybody there?
    i still need help with this.
     
  5. coastinc

    coastinc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We'd be able to help you with this, it looks like probably a simple problem of incorrect HTML. Feel free to contact us for assistance.
     
  6. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, agreed. It is a html issue with the way that the link was entered into the page.
     
  7. raquii

    raquii Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Thanks B12Org I was.
    I guess you noticed I figured it out by my self. I just wish I could remember what I did to fix it! :(
     
  8. Rachel

    Rachel Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same problem on my page www.rachelnusbaumer.com

    When I log to cPanelX and generate a new counter, it doesnt display the image. So I guess the problem doesnt come from my page. Can anybody help me please?

    Thanks,

    Rachel
     
  9. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I know this sounds dumb - but does /cgi-sys/Count.cgi exist in your web?
     
  10. dynaserve

    dynaserve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cgi-sys

    cgi-sys is the server wide equivalent your local cgi-bin, except everyone can access/execute code there. Thus you wil not see cgi-sys in your local web. You will see it as a ScriptAlias in httpd.conf to something like /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/

    You will also find the data file for the counter in /var/cpanel/Counters
     
    #10 dynaserve, Sep 13, 2004
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2004
  11. Lamar

    Lamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    For future reference...

    This issue can be seen if ownership of /var/cpanel/Counters/username is wrong. A client set up the counter before dns had propagated to our servers. When the counter was set up, the file, /var/cpanel/Counters/username, was created with the owner being the name of the server. For example:
    beta1 is the servername.
    It should have read:
    A simple command set everything appropriately.
    -Lamar
     
  12. raquii

    raquii Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    My god. This is way too confusing. :mad: Does it have to be?
    There must be simpler instructions then this.
    I'm a paying client here.
    Someone please help us simplify these proceedures.
     
  13. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    If this is a reproducable problem (I have not tested or seen it), then you should submit a support ticket and/or a bugzilla report. Then cPanel can resolve the underlying issue for future implementations and perhaps provide a /scripts/ fix to resolve any current configurations with this problem.

    I do not think it is that confusing TBH (though I would still suggest the steps I mentioned above if you are experiencing the problem). You need to check ownership of a file and chown it if it is incorrect. One script that will verify and chown (if needed) all files would be simpler, but if chown'ing one file is to confusing, then running a script may be as well.
     
Loading...

Share This Page