The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CGI problem WHM / cPanel running CGI script

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Per Meistrup, Mar 30, 2015.

  1. Per Meistrup

    Per Meistrup Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I’m going to set up CGI at out new Apache server with cPanel for running Miva – no comments please, know Miva is kind of outdated for mosts, but it works extremely well when running, and we do have a huge site not rewritten to PHP, that we wish to move to the new server:
    Centos 6.6 x86_64 vmware, WHM 11.48.2 (build 3).

    I am going to add two simple lines to httpd.conf:

    AddType application/x-miva .mv
    Action application/x-miva /cgi-bin/miva

    -and used the Include Editor in Pre Virtual Hosts (2.2.29); recompile/restart Apache. Checked that the line shows up in the “pre_virtualhost_global.conf”-file.

    However the mime-type do not show at any user’s cPanel and CGI-scripts cannot run, shows error 500 (which don’t tell much).

    The script-engine and .conf-file are placed in the Vhost’s cgi-bin.

    That’s supposed to work as simple as that, and last time I did the set-up (2011) everything worked well right away, I followed exactly same procedure this time (chmod 0755 etc. on script-engine).

    However, now there is a ModSecurity in cPanel and our Server Provider recommended us to buy the full ConfigServer version, which they kindly installed and configured for us. I tried to switch it “off”, but that didn’t change anything.

    SuEXEC is “on” – everything in WHM stays in default mode – and in Service Configuration > Global Services > Directory Options, ExecCGI and other options are “on” except Includes and MultiViews “off” (all default settings). Have tried suEXEC “off” and Includes “on”, but still the same error 500 (nothing happens). :(

    Do any of the WHM/cPanel experts here have any suggestion for what may be the problem – and how to solve it – or what I may do wrong...?

    Many thanks for any help. :)
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,698
    Likes Received:
    657
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. Wrafico

    Wrafico Registered

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Madrid
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hello. I happend to have a similar issue trying to install an old Miva Empresa with suExec. I'm getting similar problems Did you ever solved this? How?

    When I add this (AddType application/x-miva .mv" and "Action application/x-miva /cgi-bin/miva) to the virtualhost conf, the test file diag.mv downloads. When I remove them the page shows a 500 error. If a add an apache handler directly in cpanel: either server-parsed o cgi-script with .mv extension, I get the file parsed partially, but the test doesn't work and the URL's in the links provide come out broken, like this:

    domain.com/&[%20s.documenturl%20]Test=sysvars']domain.com/&[ s.documenturl ]Test=sysvars

    Instead of like this: domain.com/diag.mv?Test=sysvars

    Any information will be greatly apreciated since I'm no expert in this matters eventhough I must get this up an running in a new server urgently.

    Thanks in advance.
     
    #3 Wrafico, May 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2015
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,698
    Likes Received:
    657
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What do you see in /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log when the browser shows a 500 error message?

    Thank you.
     
  5. Per Meistrup

    Per Meistrup Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry for not being back (I'm the original OP, I did check first days, but as no reply I thought I would get an email notification if answered).

    My Error_log just says:
    [Sat May 30 11:24:18 2015] [error] [client 1.0.222.75] suexec failure: could not open log file
    [Sat May 30 11:24:18 2015] [error] [client 1.0.222.75] fopen: Permission denied
    [Sat May 30 11:24:18 2015] [error] [client 1.0.222.75] Premature end of script headers: miva
    [Sat May 30 11:24:18 2015] [error] [client 1.0.222.75] File does not exist: /home/helenettet/public_html/500.shtml

    Also checked Suexec_log:
    [2015-05-30 09:06:37]: uid: (503/helenettet) gid: (514/helenettet) cmd: miva
    [2015-05-30 09:06:56]: uid: (503/helenettet) gid: (514/helenettet) cmd: diag.mv
    [2015-05-30 09:06:56]: file has no execute permission: (/home/helenettet/public_html/cgi-bin/diag.mv)

    I have searched numerous forums around the web for an solution. Poster "Wrafico" above, seemed to have the same problem, and I today only found his posting in a Miva-forum of April 30th and till May 4th, where Miva says »Empresa 3 will still run on modern OS's, at least through CentOS 6; haven't tested on 7. It will even run on 64-bit,« and kindly inform the simple 4-step set-up running the binary in the CGI-bin:
    1) Put the 'miva' binary in the site's cgi-bin folder.
    2) Create a miva.conf along side the binary in the cgi-bin folder with the following base config:
    securityoptions=7
    redirectonly=yes
    dnslookup=off
    validextensions=.mv
    mivaroot=/path/to/httpdocs
    stdmodedatadir=/path/to/mivadata
    3) Add the following lines to that site's apache config:
    AddType application/x-miva .mv
    Action application/x-miva /cgi-bin/miva
    4) Restart apache

    That's the same procedure I have been following (CentOS6) and also used in 2011.

    Source: http://extranet.miva.com/forums/sho...ley-looking-for-prehistoric-miva-empresa-3-9x

    Wrafico posted an URL to his miva test script (diag.mv), and that seems to work now - so I will be grateful to receive some hints about what, I may do wrong...:confused:
    Many thanks for any help...:)

    PS: I had re-uploaded the Miva binary (v9.9700), just to be sure that the file wasn't corrupt.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,698
    Likes Received:
    657
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  7. Per Meistrup

    Per Meistrup Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,698
    Likes Received:
    657
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could try switching to DSO with Apache Mod_Ruid2:

    Mod_Ruid2

    However, it's likely an issue with the Miva script based on your output. You may want to consult with them further to determine the cause of the problem.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page