The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cgi scripts not working!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dankish, Mar 13, 2005.

  1. dankish

    dankish Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    why arent scripts allowed to be accessed?
    is there somewhere to disable them or something?

    every script i try to run,wont work!!
     
  2. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hmm, more info needed. :)

    What error do you get trying to run them?

    What do the error logs tell you?

    Does the domain have ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/user/public_html/cgi-bin/ in httpd.conf?

    Are the scripts and the directory that they are located in, chmod 755?

    Do you have a .htaccess file installed on the account and what does it contain?

    Have you named the perl scripts, .pl or .cgi ?

    That should do for now :)
     
  3. dankish

    dankish Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well..most of the errors are 500 (Internal server error)

    i tried using the entropybanner for example..
    i upload the banners,add
    Code:
    <!--#exec cmd="cgi-bin/entropybanner.cgi"-->
    into the .shtml
    but the page doesnt show them,and the error log doesnt report anything..
    but when i try to goto cgi-bin/entropybanner.cgi manually,i get a 500 error and the log says
    and
    what could be the problem?

    i dont know anything about the httpd.conf
    they are all chmod 755
    and i dont use a .htaccess
    i havent named them anything,i left them the way they were,as cPanel installs entropybanner for you,that still doesnt work.

    thanks
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    If you have shell access, try
    perl -c /home/me/public_html/cgi-bin/entropybanner.cgi
    and see if it tells you anything.

    Or add:

    use CGI::Carp qw(fatalsToBrowser);

    to the script near the beginning to see if it will show anything in the browser.
     
  5. dankish

    dankish Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i dont have shell access..

    and adding
    Code:
    use CGI::Carp qw(fatalsToBrowser);
    didnt do anything,same error
     
Loading...

Share This Page