The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CGI Suexec off - HELP !

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jeroman8, Dec 7, 2007.

  1. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    After running easyapache all CGI is started to have issues and I think suexec is not running.

    Anyway - before there was a speciel suexec page for cgi/perl in WHM.
    Now the only suexec link there is, is inlcuded in the php config page.

    I wanna have suexec ON for cgi scripts.
    I wanna have suexec OFF for php scripts.

    So my question:

    The suexec option on the "Configure PHP and SuExec" page - is it for CGI och for both cgi and php or only php ??
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    SuExec is only for Perl. If you want to have PHP scripts run as user, use SuPHP. If you selected SuPHP during the EA3 build process, you should see it in the drop-down for PHP handler.

    PhpSuExec is no longer available as of EA3, SuPHP should be used instead.
     
  3. myweb

    myweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tokyo
    I think this is very confusing. If I dont select suPHP in EA3, I dont even see the dropdown in the page so I thought that the suExec section in that page actually meant PhpSuExec. I think the page should at least display that SuPHP is disabled and should be titled like "Configure Perl Suexec and PHP" to avoid confusion.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I see an internal case recommending this cosmetic change. (case 3965)

    (Removed, see Kenneth's explanation for SuExec applying to all CGI apps)

    I understand the confusion as everything else on that page is only for PHP, one would naturally assume if they are quickly looking through things that this was a PHP-specific option as well.
     
    #4 cPanelDavidG, Jan 16, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2008
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    suExec is for any application run via CGI, regardless of programming language. suExec is suExec as provided by the Apache project. PHPsuExec was a patch we used to provide, a patch for suExec. As such, there was not a separate PHPSuExec binary, only the suexec binary.

    To use PHP, in particular, with suExec, one must set the handler to CGI in the 'Configure PHP and suExec' editor/page and enable suExec.
     
  6. boatdesign

    boatdesign Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Kenneth. Just ran into this issue myself tonight as well, and this thread solved it.
    WHM verbage is very confusing to me in that if you click "Configure PHP and SuExec" you are greeted with a statement:
    which to me, implied different than
     
Loading...

Share This Page