The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cgi-Wrapper /scgi-bin

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mickalo, Aug 12, 2002.

  1. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Cancel this post, I found the problem. The scgiwrap binary executable was chmoded improperly. It's working fine now.

    =========================================

    Hello,

    Hoping someone can help me out on this one.

    All of a sudden all our accounts that have enabled the cgi-wrapper to use the &/scgi-bin& on our server stopped running under their own &owner/group&, but instead now run under &nobody&... we had a problem with some folder/files premission settings getting messed up and I think this may also be the case. We do not have suexec enable, this is disabled, but I 'm not sure on the chmod folder setting for the /usr/local/cpanel.

    What would cause the cgi-wrapper to all of sudden run under &nobody& instead of the account's own &owner/group& id's

    Any help would be much appreciated!!

    TIA,
    Mickal;o
     
  2. parag

    parag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:7e708235c5][i:7e708235c5]Originally posted by mickalo[/i:7e708235c5]

    Hello,

    Hoping someone can help me out on this one.

    All of a sudden all our accounts that have enabled the cgi-wrapper to use the &/scgi-bin& on our server stopped running under their own &owner/group&, but instead now run under &nobody&... we had a problem with some folder/files premission settings getting messed up and I think this may also be the case. We do not have suexec enable, this is disabled, but I 'm not sure on the chmod folder setting for the /usr/local/cpanel.

    What would cause the cgi-wrapper to all of sudden run under &nobody& instead of the account's own &owner/group& id's

    Any help would be much appreciated!!

    TIA,
    Mickal;o[/quote:7e708235c5]

    Hi

    I think you must have disabled SuExec.

    Go to your WHM scroll down the server setup menu and then click on Enable/Disable SuExec

    Check whether its enabled or not., If its not enabled then enable it and everything will be ok

    regards,
    Parag
     
  3. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The wrapper should work without suExec being enabled. Mickalo, what do the permissions look like now that you've reset them?
     
  4. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Problem solved :)

    [quote:2663dc0547][i:2663dc0547]Originally posted by Annette[/i:2663dc0547]

    The wrapper should work without suExec being enabled. Mickalo, what do the permissions look like now that you've reset them?
    [/quote:2663dc0547]

    that's exactly what the problem was, after I did a little more digging.
    once I re-set the file premission setting on the binary, scgiwrap, then
    everything worked fine.

    thanks,
     
  5. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I know - that first part was not directed to you. However, my other question is: what are the permissions you set on the scgiwrap? We have the same problem on a couple of boxes, but the permissions look correct when compared to other boxes, and I want to rule out the possibility that the permissions are just wrong everywhere (since we only have complaints on two out of many servers). Thanks.
     
  6. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    [quote:94489d3f7a][i:94489d3f7a]Originally posted by Annette[/i:94489d3f7a]

    I know - that first part was not directed to you.
    However, my other question is: what are the permissions you set on
    the scgiwrap? We have the same problem on a couple of boxes,
    but the permissions look correct when compared to other boxes, and
    I want to rule out the possibility that the permissions are
    just wrong everywhere (since we only have complaints on two out
    of many servers). Thanks.[/quote:94489d3f7a]

    The scgiwrap should be owned by root, chmod setting should be: 4755
     
  7. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, that rules that out. Thanks!
     
  8. Daniel

    Daniel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had that problem on a server and found that

    ScriptAlias /scgi-bin /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/scgiwrap

    was not in httpd.conf.
     
Loading...

Share This Page