The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cgiemail not working

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Drew Nichols, Aug 20, 2003.

  1. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    Cgiemail is giving this error:

    Internal Server Error
    The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.
    Please contact the server administrator, webmaster@

    All I get in the error log is premature end of script header. The program runs fine from the command line.

    Any ideas?

    Drew

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. hostalia

    hostalia Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problema here... any ideas?

    The cgiemail binary seems to have update at Aug 19 06:22 (GMT+2). So I presume that this last update is the cause of the error.

    Anyone have a solution?

    Thank you

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. hostalia

    hostalia Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just a quick fix:

    chmod u-s /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/cgiemail
    chmod u-s /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/cgiecho

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. ivaserver

    ivaserver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks hostalia that worked OK



    when you say Just a quick fix does this mean things will go wrong again on next cpanel update?

    Thanks
    Ivaserver

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #4 ivaserver, Aug 20, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2003
  5. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    Still getting the error here, even after entering those commands.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Yes internal server error across 5 boxes.

    What is the official cPanel fix?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    It's too bad we don't have better diagnostics of the premature end of script errors. I even tried recompiling.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. Daniel

    Daniel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have one server like this but all other servers are fine. I copied a working script from another server and it will not run on this server. Very odd problem.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I had this problem. I did several things, not sure which one fixed it but when I was done, it was working again.

    I chmod 755 those files (I do not think that worked)
    I recompiled Apache
    I updgraded to latest Edge release

    After that was complete, it was working again.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    Any other news about this? Anything I do doesn't help.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. maverick

    maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The fix posted above by hostalia worked for us (thanks!), but the problem does revert once you upgrade CPanel, so bear in mind you have to apply it after every CPanel update.

    Mav.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    It's not working for us. Funny thing is, some domains work fine but others do not. And that's on the same server.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Anyone pout in a bug report yet?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    I did.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. paul-ukhost

    paul-ukhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    we had the same prob and chmod 755 worked for us.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    yeah, seems the chmod works. Don't know why it did not work for me the first time I tried it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    Well you guys are lucky because NONE of these things are working for me.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. qwerty

    qwerty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    same here ..broken on all servers..


    NICK!!? Where art thou??!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I had a tech looking into this. Yesterday he asked for my root password. He said that the s attribute should be working and wanted to look into why. Was not thrilled but gave it to him anyway.

    Of course, he logged in around 3 in the afternoon yesterday and I've not heard back from him.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. ukhost

    ukhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    We opened a ticket too, the reply we got was less than impressive.

    Having explained it wasn't working in the ticket our reply was basically "everything is correct are you having a problem?"

    I had explained that we had to CHMOD 0755 to get it to work and replied to my ticket and not had a reply in days!

    Kind Regards,

    Neil

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page