Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change a parked domain from http to https?

Discussion in 'Security' started by mostdom, Mar 14, 2017.

Tags:
  1. mostdom

    mostdom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    the domain is parked not hosted
    and i have the ssl certificate how can i change the domain to be in this format https:// while it's parked?

    i also have an account with cpanel plan and tried to ad the domain by addon and i am getting this message
    (XID 9zyxt4) Sorry, the domain is already pointed to an IP address that does not appear to use DNS servers associated with this server. Please transfer the domain to this servers nameservers or have your administrator add one of its nameservers to /etc/ips.remotedns and make the proper A entries on that remote nameserver.

    i dont know what is the problem the name servers for the domain are the same nameservers for the standard domain that is already using the hosting in the cpanel
     
    #1 mostdom, Mar 14, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 14, 2017
  2. sktest123

    sktest123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    kochin
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. mostdom

    mostdom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    hello sktest i mean the domain is parked which means there is no any use for it right now it's not hosted as example this domain - Removed -
    now i want to change the domain format from http to https while the domain remains parked and i am new to all of this after i searched i knew that i must have the ssl certificate so i got it but i dont know how to use it with a parked domain to change the format to https

    however i have already a shared hosting on cpanel so i tried to add the domain using the (addon domain) but then this message appears to me (((XID 9zyxt4) Sorry, the domain is already pointed to an IP address that does not appear to use DNS servers associated with this server. Please transfer the domain to this servers nameservers or have your administrator add one of its nameservers to /etc/ips.remotedns and make the proper A entries on that remote nameserver))
     
    #3 mostdom, Mar 14, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 14, 2017
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    If the domain name already uses name servers with associated IP addresses that are added on the cPanel server, then this is an issue your web hosting provider will need to address. Please contact them to report the issue.

    Thank you.
     
  5. mostdom

    mostdom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    thank you cpanelmichael
    i added the domain on my hosting account and i added the ssl certificate also but still dont know how to change the domain format to the https format i want the domain url to be in this format https:// example .com while it remains parked i dont want to install it on a website.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can't install a SSL Certificate on a parked domain name. You will need to add it as an Addon domain name, which will require the help of your web hosting provider due to the error message you reported when attempting to add the domain name.

    Thanks!
     
  7. mostdom

    mostdom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    the problem when i tried to add on the domain is already solved ...my question now is about changing the format to https of the parked domain
    all i want is when someone type the domain starting with https its redirecting him to my domain
    i wonder if there is any solution for this?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you provide a more specific example of what you are seeking? Also, keep in mind the domain name is considered an addon domain name instead of a parked domain name if you have created it as an Addon domain name in the account.

    Thank you.
     
    mostdom likes this.
  9. mostdom

    mostdom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    i just want when some one types the domain's url starting with the https he will be able to open my domain page with no problem
    if i added the domain as a parked domain will this be working?
     
  10. mostdom

    mostdom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    lets say the domain is ((example .com)) i want when some one types ((https:// example .com)) it leads him to my domain example .com
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    That should already happen by default when you install a SSL certificate on a domain name.

    Thank you.
     
  12. mostdom

    mostdom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    but it doesnt happen
    when i write the domain url with https the page doesnt open at all
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you using a specific application that defines a site URL? Or, do you have any .htaccess files with custom rewrite entries that are redirecting the requests? Have you reported the issue to your web hosting provider?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page