The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change account Primary Domain name.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by brentc, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. brentc

    brentc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have been trying to update an account through WHM using the Modify Account tool (Main >> Account Functions >> Modify an Account).

    When I have tried to do this, changing the username and the primary domain, i get the error, Unable to change domain name. But that's all, so I have no idea why at this point.

    I know I could technically run the script to back up the account as it is, then terminate the account, create the new account and then unpackage the backup into/as the new account with the new domain name. But, this seems like too much trouble.

    Any other ideas as to why my Modify an Account tool is not working for me as I expect?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you check the cPanel error log (/usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log) to determine if there are any specific errors when attempting to modify the account?

    Thank you.
     
  3. brentc

    brentc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The last few errors listed, which may or may not be causing the problem, are related to an add-on domain within the account that is to be changed. It says the following:

    warn [subdomain::delsubdomain] Encountered error in subdomain::delsubdomain: Sorry, the subdomain *username* cannot be removed because it is linked to the addon domain(s) 'addondomain.com'. You must first remove the addon domain(s).

    There is also this bit:

    warn [dnsadmin-ssl] Could not read from zonefile /var/named/'sub.maindomain.com.db at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/NameServer/Local/cPanel.pm line 886
    Cpanel::NameServer::Local::cPanel::_cached_zone_fetch(Cpanel::NameServer::Local::cPanel=HASH(0x8e6ded4), '/var/named', 'sub.maindomain.com') called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/NameServer/Local/cPanel.pm line 773
    Cpanel::NameServer::Local::cPanel::getzone(Cpanel::NameServer::Local::cPanel=HASH(0x8e6ded4), '9SSzHJOSD6nIYEnHqYh0t7B6Vkp8kCFA', HASH(0x84f0154), '&zone='sub.maindomain.com') called at whostmgr/bin/dnsadmin-ssl line 587
    main::_action_handler('GETZONE', 'local', '9SSzHJOSD6nIYEnHqYh0t7B6Vkp8kCFA', HASH(0x84f0154), '&zone='sub.maindomain.com') called at whostmgr/bin/dnsadmin-ssl line 645


    Would this add-on domain be causing the problem?
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. brentc

    brentc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, oh yes. I've actually experienced this before. Sometimes any add-on/sub domain entries do not get "completely" removed from the system. I believe at the time that I ran into this before I was using a different tool however. In this case though, after following the instructions in the post you sent the link to, I was able to successfully use the Modify Account tool to change the account's main domain name.

    Thank you again!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page