Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Change apache's webroot directory?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dottedquad, Apr 9, 2019.

Tags:
  1. dottedquad

    dottedquad Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arizona
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I installed laravel on one of my domains in cpanel. Laravels docs recommend that I change the webroot directory to the "public" directory which is located inside of the framework main directory.

    How do I change the webroot directory from public_html to public for a specific domain?
     
  2. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It might actually be easier for you to symlink public to public_html.

    However, this can be done, check this out:

    interserver.net/tips/kb/change-primary-domain-document-root-cpanelwhm/
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #2 GOT, Apr 9, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 10, 2019
  3. dottedquad

    dottedquad Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arizona
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The /cpanel directory is not found. I'm not sure when that tutorial was written so I'm not sure if cpanel's file/folder structure is the same as the guide in that link.
     
  4. dottedquad

    dottedquad Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arizona
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, I found the cpanel directory it's located in the /var directory. I'm going to try this out and see what happens. I'll respond back with my status.
     
  5. dottedquad

    dottedquad Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arizona
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I canceled my license and went back to the server control panel that I was using prior to trying cpanel. There simply isn't enough flexibility. Cpanel has my server locked down tight. However, this isn't necessarily a bad thing, but for me, I need to be able to change settings without going through extra steps.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,551
    Likes Received:
    2,182
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @dottedquad,

    Feel free to let us know if you need any assistance should you decide to give it another shot in the future. I'm happy to help walk you through any configuration settings or provide you with the steps required to make a specific configuration change.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice