The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

change cpanel verison via ssh

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tdw82, May 29, 2006.

  1. tdw82

    tdw82 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi i have the release built of cpanel, and i was wondering if there a way to change it to current via ssh, because i dont have access whm because it crashed after i updated mysql to 5. so i can only connect threw ssh.



    Tim
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    This setting is stored in /etc/cpupdate.conf

    The contents should be something like:

    CPANEL=manual-release
    RPMUP=daily
    SYSUP=daily

    You can change the value of CPANEL to:

    manual-stable|release|current|edge|beta

    where '|' is OR, e.g:

    manual-stable
    manual-current
     
  3. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    Your MySQL problems shouldn't really effect your ability to access WHM.

    Make sure cPanel is running, type this in shell:

    /etc/init.d/cpanel restart
     
  4. tdw82

    tdw82 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thats for the help, i ran your command and this is what i get

    /etc/init.d/cpanel restart

    Stopping cPanel services: [ OK ]
    Stopping pop3 services: [ OK ]
    Stopping cPanel log services: [ OK ]
    Stopping cPanel Chat services: [ OK ]
    Stopping Melange Chat services: [ OK ]
    Stopping InterChange services: [ OK ]
    Stopping cPanel ssl services: [ OK ]

    Stopping mailman services: Shutting down Mailman's master qrunner

    Starting eximstats: [ OK ]
    Starting cPanel services: [ OK ]
    Starting cPanel Log services: [ OK ]
    Starting pop3 services: [ OK ]
    Starting cPanel Chat services: [ OK ]
    Starting Melange Chat services: [ OK ]
    Starting InterChange services: [ OK ]
    Starting cPanel ssl services: [FAILED]
    Starting mailman services: Starting Mailman's master qrunner.




    i also tried running

    /scripts/mysqlup
    /scripts/mysqlup --force
    /scripts/upcp
    /scripts/upcp --force

    and many many more, seached the forums for hours last night and many hours today, and i also submitted a ticket with cpanel, but i haven't gotten a respond back

    i'm going to try and change that config file to current and run /scripts/upcp again and see if that works

    Tim
     
  5. tdw82

    tdw82 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    nope that didn't work either, i'm out of options, i'll guess i'll wait till i get a responds from cpanel.



    Tim
     
  6. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    What's the URL you are using to access WHM?
     
Loading...

Share This Page