The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change exim.conf forever without chattr

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by closet geek, Nov 29, 2005.

  1. closet geek

    closet geek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I want to change some values in my exim.conf permanently so even when cPanel rebuilds it it'll still have my changed values however I don't want to just chattr +i the file. What files do I need to edit to get at what cPanel uses as its default values?

    cg
     
  2. SubZero

    SubZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Balmumcu, Istanbul, TR
    must edit that from WHM..

    what would you like to set?
     
  3. closet geek

    closet geek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Stuff like freeze and thaw times on messages.

    cg
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    As SubZero says, you should make those changes in WHM > Exim Configuration Editor > Advanced Mode. You should never chattr any of the exim files as it will break exim the next time it is updated which most likely will affect mail delivery (i.e. it won't deliver).
     
  5. closet geek

    closet geek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I can't, the sections I want to edit are greyed out.

    cg
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you want to change configuration settings, then if you put them in the first textarea they will override subsequent ones.
     
Loading...

Share This Page