The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change FTP and cPanel passwords only (not database)

Discussion in 'Security' started by mndoug, Feb 17, 2016.

  1. mndoug

    mndoug Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    England, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Older versions of Cpanel allowed you to change the FTP and Cpanel without affecting the database. Which was ideal as we want to protect our server and files, yet not have to go into config files and amend the pw each time...

    Is there a workaround, or is this now in a different place?

    I have Cpanel and WHM access.
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :),

    Are you using cPanel user name in your site mysql configuration file ? I will suggest you please create new mysql user and update your site configuration so that you will not face such issues.
     
  3. mndoug

    mndoug Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    England, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So, there is no way to change the cpanel and ftp, but leave the databases in tact?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. mndoug

    mndoug Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    England, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There used to be an option to change the passwords but leave the database password... is this no longer a feature?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's still a feature, but the option is only available if the user has a ".my.cnf" file in their home directory. EX:

    Code:
    /home/$user/.my.cnf
    You can create this file as the user if you prefer to make this option available.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page