change FTP path after account creation

trucmuche

Well-Known Member
Nov 20, 2014
98
4
58
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hello,

I have a FTP account created in my Cpanel account and it works perfectly. However, I would like to change the path of this FTP account. I didn't find where I could change the path of an existing FTP account without deleting it and re-creating it with the correct path.

Is that possible somewhere ? (from account level in CPanel or from VPS level in WHM)

Thank you very much for your help !!

Trucmuche
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,884
2,243
463
Hello :)

It's not possible to change FTP account paths through cPanel or WHM. The best way to make the change is to delete and recreate the FTP account. Note that deleting FTP accounts does not delete the directory it's granted access to as long as you choose "Delete Account" instead of "Delete Account And Files".

Thank you.
 

trucmuche

Well-Known Member
Nov 20, 2014
98
4
58
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hello,

Ok thank you. I think that would be an interesting feature because :
1) some clients asked me to change the path of their FTP account. But as I don't have their password for this account, I have to put a different password myself and they have to reconfigure their FTP software... quite complicated for "basic users".
2) and the deleting & creation procedure is quite complicated too for those "basic users", for such a simple operation...

In particular, as I migrated all accounts from Direct Admin to CPanel, all FTP paths are now incorrect and I have to delete & recreate FTP accounts for all of my clients... argh :-(

Wouldn't it be possible to imagine putting an option "change ftp path" in some next version of WHM/CPanel ?

Thanks again,

Trucmuche
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,884
2,243
463
Hello :)

Feel free to submit a feature request for this via:

Submit A Feature Request

In particular, as I migrated all accounts from Direct Admin to CPanel, all FTP paths are now incorrect and I have to delete & recreate FTP accounts for all of my clients... argh :-(
This should not happen if you use our transfer tools to migrate the accounts. Please open a bug report for this via:

Submit A Bug Report

Thank you.