Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Change IMAP ports

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by krisa4d, Jan 3, 2017.

  1. krisa4d

    krisa4d Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    First of all thank you for welcoming me to the community, I am an administrator of a hosting company, and recently we have been suffering High CPU load due to mass map-logins.

    We have looked around on our WHM panel and can't see a way to change the ports.

    Is this actually possible? or should we just change our IP addresses?


    Thanks in Advance!
    Kristian
     
  2. krisa4d

    krisa4d Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I forgot to mention we also have enabled CPhulk blocking by iptables
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,713
    Likes Received:
    1,883
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    There's no supported method of changing the IMAP/POP3 ports. I recommend installing a firewall management utility such as CSF that can automatically detect brute force attempts and then block the IP addresses.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. krisa4d

    krisa4d Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ok, thanks for the reply, we have already installed a CSF and CPhulk but we consider the best method of resolving this is in changing the ports. This could be an interesting feature for future releases. In the end we have resolved this by blocking IP ranges from countries such as China, Russia and Afghanistan.

    Thanks for the reply @cPanelMichael
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,713
    Likes Received:
    1,883
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I encourage you to open a feature request if you'd like to see an option for this added to cPanel:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice