The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change IP address of WHM without changing IP of my accounts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ehsan551, Mar 15, 2017.

  1. ehsan551

    ehsan551 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    iraq
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I have a dedicated server from OVH and I have set up a VPS with cPanel on it and it is working fine for about two years.

    Now I want to change the main IP adress of my VPS from `162.*.*.171` to `162.*.*.170` so that the IP adress of my website doesn't change. I mean I be able to log in WHM by `162.*.*.170:2087` but the IP of my sites is `162.*.*.171`

    This is what I have done:

    1. Log into OVH account and changed virtual mac address of the IP 162.*.*.170 to what I had on `162.*.*.171`
    2. Delete the virtual mac address of the IP `162.*.*.171`
    3. Edit /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 and update the IP address.
    4. Edit /etc/hosts/ and update the IP address.
    5. Run #service network restart

    After it I tried to open `162.*.*.170:2087` in my browser but it doesn't works. any none of my websites are not responding. I check for the network availability by #ping google.com and it is working fine but I can not reach to my sites.

    What Is wrong here?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You may want to check with your data center or hosting provider to see if any additional steps are required when changing the IP address of the server. Also, you may want to try restarting the ipaliases service. Additionally, ensure you add the .171 address back to the server as a new IP address if you still plan to use it for accounts.

    Thank you.
     
  3. sktest123

    sktest123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    kochin
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    guess you did n't miss the updating the CPanel License to new IP. via cpkeyclt command.
     
  4. mahdy_sharifi

    mahdy_sharifi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think you need use "IP Migration Wizard" in WHM to migrate New IP . because cpanel still use old IP .
     
  5. ehsan551

    ehsan551 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    iraq
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you guys.

    That is right, I did not update the license but when you have not a valid cPanel license then you should reach to the license error page after login into WHM/cPanel. in this case I do not reach to the login page and all accounts on cPanel not responding.
     
  6. sktest123

    sktest123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    kochin
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    check ifconfig output, restart cpanel, error logs, that will guide you .
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature if you'd like us to take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here and we will update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page