The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change main domain on an account.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by aboleth, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. aboleth

    aboleth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    I have an account on one of my servers that has a parked domain. They want to eliminate their main domain and use the parked domain as the main, is there an easy way of doing this without having to create a new account?

    Thanks,
    Nick
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes:

    1. Remove the parked domain.
    2. Go to WHM, modify the account. Change the domain for the account from what it is now to the domain name of the former parked domain.

    That's all. Just note that the former main domain will no longer be associated with that account so your email/webmail users thould adjust the domain portion of their username accordingly.
     
  3. aboleth

    aboleth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks! Help highly appreciated.
     
  4. bradandersen

    bradandersen Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Similar Problem

    Hello,

    I have a similar problem, but I'm dealing with the server/system name. The server used to be domain.biz, then added a parked domain of domain.com. I now want to delete the parked domain (but I can't for some reason - probably because it is now the server/system name), and change the user account from domain.biz to domain.com.
    Does anybody know what the process is for changing a domain manually and deleting/changing a parked domain is?

    Thanks,
    Brad
     
  5. bradandersen

    bradandersen Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ugh

    Okay, now the domain has been deleted (unparked), but now I cannot re-add it as I get "Sorry, the domain name cannot be changed because it is owned by another user."

    Does anybody know how to get rid of this? I can't really delete the DNS entry as that will lose me access to the system.

    Thanks,
    Brad
     
  6. nwbach

    nwbach Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    concering David Grega's answer

    Thanks David for the main domain name change answer. I was wondering: does this change actually change the information in httpd.conf? Also, in the WHM, do you leave the username the same as it was before the domain change or can you change this also when you make the change?
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, this will modify httpd.conf accordingly. No manual modification of httpd.conf should be needed.

    You can change both the username and domain simultaneously if you desire. The only exception I can think of off-hand would be a reseller, as reseller usernames cannot be modified.
     
  8. nwbach

    nwbach Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    more on change

    One last question. My client who wants the domain change has a large MySql database. What effect would the domain name change have on the database?
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The domain name change would not affect the database, but if you changed the username, that would affect the name of the database. In a cPanel environment, MySQL databases are prefixed with username_.
     
  10. slovas

    slovas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have similar problem.
    I have hosting account with main domain and parked domain on it.
    There are large number of email accounts on main and parked domain.
    My client have to switch domains - parked should beccme main and main should be parked. But there is problem with emails. He want to use both mailboxes - with both domain.

    It is the problem with many accounts because serbian TLD changes from .yu on .rs. Many clients has both domains but in following 9 months previous domains will be completely unfunctional.
     
    #10 slovas, Sep 11, 2008
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2008
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As far as the mail situation goes, you could always set up a Domain Forwarder (in the Email Forwarders section of the cPanel interface). While an Email Forwarder will forward an individual mail address, a Domain Forwarder will forward the mail for an entire domain to another domain.

    So if you have example.com and example.net but you want to login to anything@example.com but mail sent to anything@example.net should still be received, you would set up a domain forarder from example.net to example.com.

    Domain Forwarders operate independently of parked domain functionality.
     
  12. slovas

    slovas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That's ok, but potential problem is with existing mailboxes.

    Example:
    Main domain is example.com and parked domain is example.biz. There are 2 mailboxes created: office@example.com and office@example.net. Both mailboxes were used by client who wants to keep emails on server (webmail access)

    Now, the main domain is example.net and parked is example.com.

    What email boxes I'll have now? Are they empty? What will happen when domain example.com will expired?
     
  13. slovas

    slovas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anybody know?
     
  14. delsol101

    delsol101 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is it necessary to update the MySQL prefix after a domain change if my concern is primary SEO? Does searches find MySQL prefixes as well? I just want to make sure the old domain is not being referenced by the old prefix name.

    Thans.

     
  15. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    No, you do not need to edit the MySQL prefix on the database.
     
  16. Luchanu

    Luchanu Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1


    No...
    From removed parked domains, first remove from whm: list parked domains, if the parked domains not list, delete dns zone for the "parked domain".
    Later, parked the "parked domain" on the account (yes again), and later, disparked or delete de parked domains, now, you can create a account for the domains has parked.
    by root or superuser.
     
Loading...

Share This Page