Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Change MX

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tgavin, Apr 12, 2007.

  1. tgavin

    tgavin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    The server this site is on is also running as a dns server.

    I have a customer that has two sites. sitea.com, siteb.com.

    They want to change the mx record to go from sitea.com to point to mail.siteb.com. The quote from the email: "Please change the mx record for sitea.com to point to mail.siteb.com"

    How do I do this?
     
  2. tgavin

    tgavin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Thank you. Which ones do I edit, though?
     
  3. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can change the MX record through WHM. Go to "Edit DNS Zone" and select the domain and click on "Edit" button to modify the records.

    Kailash
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You may also change the MX record from WHM using 'Edit MX Entry' -> select the domain -> enter 'mail.siteb.com' and save it.

    Kailash
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    The problem is that if you do it this way, then the cpanel system will not properly update the "remotedomains" and "localdomains" file to show that the mail for this domain is now offsite.

    So if you send email to the domain FROM another domain hosted on the same server.. it will still be delivered locally.

    If you use the "Change MX Record" link in the cpanel or WHM, then these two config files are automatically updated.

    :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thanks,

    I was not aware of this.

    Kailash
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice