The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change MX

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tgavin, Apr 12, 2007.

  1. tgavin

    tgavin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The server this site is on is also running as a dns server.

    I have a customer that has two sites. sitea.com, siteb.com.

    They want to change the mx record to go from sitea.com to point to mail.siteb.com. The quote from the email: "Please change the mx record for sitea.com to point to mail.siteb.com"

    How do I do this?
     
  2. tgavin

    tgavin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you. Which ones do I edit, though?
     
  3. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can change the MX record through WHM. Go to "Edit DNS Zone" and select the domain and click on "Edit" button to modify the records.

    Kailash
     
  4. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You may also change the MX record from WHM using 'Edit MX Entry' -> select the domain -> enter 'mail.siteb.com' and save it.

    Kailash
     
  5. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The problem is that if you do it this way, then the cpanel system will not properly update the "remotedomains" and "localdomains" file to show that the mail for this domain is now offsite.

    So if you send email to the domain FROM another domain hosted on the same server.. it will still be delivered locally.

    If you use the "Change MX Record" link in the cpanel or WHM, then these two config files are automatically updated.

    :)
     
  6. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thanks,

    I was not aware of this.

    Kailash
     
Loading...

Share This Page