The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change nameserver IP's

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by felipekk, Jun 25, 2013.

  1. felipekk

    felipekk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    On the installation I selected the first two IP's of my machine to use as DNS.

    Example:
    Ns1.mysite.com = 122.0.0.1
    Ns2.mysite.com = 122.0.0.2


    I already installed a few sites on the WHM, and everything is running, but the IP 122.0.0.1 is flagged as Spam in a Google and I need to change it.

    How can I set the NameServers in the WHM for other IP's like
    Ns1.mysite.com = 122.0.0.2
    Ns2.mysite.com = 122.0.0.3

    I tried to change the configuration on Basic CPanel & WHM Setup, but when I click on "Add an A entry for this nameserver" it says that the IP 122.0.0.1 has already an entry for this nameserver.

    And the EDIT DNS ZONE function, seens only to work for separeted accounts, not the WHM itself...
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You change it in 2 places:

    in the registrar of the domain mysite.com

    and

    in the DNS zone of the domain mysite.com
     
  3. felipekk

    felipekk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the reply Finn,

    But if I change it on the registrar it still appears on WHM as the old ones, and all my sites become unacessible...
     
  4. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So you didn't change them in the DNS zone of the domain mysite.com?
    That's why.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The functionality of the "Nameserver IPs" page is for visual purposes only. It is a report, and not a page meant to configure any aspect of DNS. It reports the nameservers used by DNS zones on the server, as well as a count of the the number of zones that use a given nameserver. The important entries on the cPanel server are the "A" records that you have added for your name servers. Thus, as long as you have registered these name servers to the matching IP addresses at the domain registrar, then no further DNS configuration is required after ensuring the "A" records are added on the cPanel server.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page