The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change nameserver

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by rebus12, Aug 23, 2012.

  1. rebus12

    rebus12 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I changed my nameservers at my domain registrar.
    I waited and not work.

    in /etc/hosts:

    host1.mydomain.it xx.xx.xx.88

    in /etc/nameserverips:

    xx.xx.xx.214=ns2.mydomain.it
    xx.xx.xx.88=ns1.mydomain.it

    in /cat/domain/mydomain.it.db:

    mydomain.it. 86400 in SOA ns1.mydomain.it. info.domain.it. (
    2012082208 Serial Number
    86400 Refresh
    7200 Retry
    3600000 Expire
    86400 Minimum TTL
    )
    mydomain.it. 86400 IN NS ns1.mydomain.it.
    mydomain.it. 86400 IN NS ns2.mydomain.it.
    mydomain.it. 14400 IN A xx.xx.xx.88
    localhost 14400 IN A 127.0.0.1
    mydomain.it. 14400 IN MX 10 mail.mydomain.it.
    mail 14400 IN CNAME mydomain.it.
    www 14400 IN CNAME mydomain.it.
    ftp 14400 IN CNAME mydomain.it.
    cpanel 14400 IN A xx.xx.xx.88
    whm 14400 IN A xx.xx.xx.88
    webmail 14400 IN A xx.xx.xx.88
    webdisk 14400 IN A xx.xx.xx.88
    ns1 14400 IN A xx.xx.xx.88
    ns2 14400 IN A xx.xx.xx.214
    host1 14400 IN A xx.xx.xx.88
     
    #1 rebus12, Aug 23, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Try using a website such as IntoDNS to ensure the name servers are setup properly at the domain registrar:

    IntoDNS

    It can be difficult to determine the exact issue without knowing the actual domain name. Feel free to open a support ticket if you have root access so we can check further:

    Submit A Ticket

    Thank you.
     
  3. rebus12

    rebus12 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I can't submit a ticket.
     
    #3 rebus12, Aug 23, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  4. rebus12

    rebus12 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have this error status="FAILED" mail.mydomain.it. is a CNAME
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you provide more details on why a ticket can not be submitted? Are you receiving a specific error when attempting to do so?

    Thank you.
     
  6. rebus12

    rebus12 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Sorry, i have create an account yesterday to access your cpanel custom portal but I got the activation email today.

    I got the error "status=FAILEDmail.mydomain.it. is a CNAME" from my domain registrar today.
    The domains with extensions .it can't have this value. I hope it is enough to solve the problem.

    Thank you.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The warning message you are reporting should not effect DNS propagation, which is the primary issue here. You should focus on the name servers assigned at the registrar, and reported from the server that handles the DNS.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page