Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Change Nameservers IPs

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by Jaime, Jun 23, 2004.

  1. Jaime

    Jaime Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Palma de Mallorca
    Hi,

    I have to change my nameservers IPs because of a mistake on my data center.

    I changed the ips on my registar, added the new ips on WHM and deleted the old ones, edited the /etc/nameserverips file and DNS zones for the nameservers.

    But, when I go to Edit Setup and click on 'Assign IP to nameserver", I get "Sorry, the nameserver (nameserver) already has the ip (old ip) assigned to it.".

    I've searched everywhere in /etc, but I cannot find the old ips stored anywhere.

    Anybody can help me with this?

    Thanks,

    Jaime
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In /etc have you checked resolv.conf?
     
  3. Jaime

    Jaime Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Palma de Mallorca
    Yeah, I did...

    Maybe WHM performs a whois on that nameserver, and that's why it's getting the old ip... Anybody knows it? Otherwise, I cannot understand it, because I've found the IP in any file on my server...

    Thanks,

    Jaime
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you tried to restart bind and then see if you have a different result?
     
  5. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    The nameserver IPs are saved in /etc/nameserverips ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Jaime

    Jaime Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Palma de Mallorca
    Re: Re: Change Nameservers IPs

    Yes, I know. I had already edited that file. I've realized I was right... when you click on "Assign IP to nameserver", WHM apparently tries to get the ip for the nameserver using a remote whois database.

    Now that the new ips have propagated, everything is ok :)

    Thanks!

    Jaime
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice