The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change PHP Handler

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DalComp, Oct 28, 2013.

  1. DalComp

    DalComp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Right now I am using suPHP which is cPanel default setup. I am considering other PHP handler like DSO or FastCGI for lower CPU usage, and the option to use xcache for better performance.

    Is it safe changing PHP handler on a live environment? Will there be issues like file permissions of existing files or cPanel automatically fix this upon re-configuration?

    My sites are running on WordPress, so I guess my best option is FastCGI?

    Thanks!
     
  2. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Well i would suggest you to go mod_ruid2 with DSO.

    I can't remember correctly if cpanel changes permissions when changing handler, but i believe mod_ruid2 don't care about permissions , as long as owner is good.

    If you wan't to have 100% uptime, i would suggest renting new cpanel server, configuring it to your needs, importing accounts from old server and test everything out.
    It everything is ok, delete all accounts from new server and do Express or how is it called transfer, and change IPs of nameservers etc.
    It takes more time and a lot of hassle.

    Second option would be to google arround if new setup would break any of wordpress installations or it's plugins and go for it.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,676
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Permissions and ownership values for the files/directories utilized by the scripts uploaded to your website are not updated automatically when changing the PHP handler. However, permission/ownership values for directories such as public_html itself are updated automatically. The following documents should be helpful to you:

    Apache PHP Request Handling
    Apache Module: Ruid2

    Thank you.
     
  4. DalComp

    DalComp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the advice.
    I don't really like to abandon the current server, it's a kind of "special deal" and I guess I won't get the same specs at same/better pricing. But yeah I guess I should first test on another server, see if it will break current data/wordpress installations.

    Thanks. Do you think wordpress cache plugins (I'm using W3 Total Cache) will work fine on DSO? I'm not so sure how the file permissions/ownership of the cache files are treated in this matter. I think it is the only plugin on my websites that automatically creates new files. Other files (uploaded images, etc.) I can check manually.

    The first link provided is broken, btw.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,676
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You will likely have to modify directory permissions to 0777 in some cases to ensure that plugin continues to work with DSO. You may want to look into Mod_Ruid2 before doing that. I double checked, and both links are loading well for me. Could you try refreshing those pages and checking again?

    Thank you.
     
  6. DalComp

    DalComp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks a lot for the responses, Michael.

    The first link says:
    Perhaps you meant to link to this page? EasyApache: PHP Request Handling
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,676
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it appears the previous document was valid in the past, but was cached and no longer works. I have updated the post to reflect the correct URL.

    Thank you.
     
  8. zohaibmultan

    zohaibmultan Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Sir,
    i want to turn off php safe mode of my cpanel. i am a website owner and only using cpanel not vps or server.
    i am trying to install a CMS on my website. but because of safe mode on i can't do so. so please help me.
    :: there is no icone of 'SSH' in my cpanel
    :: php.ini is not present on this location /etc/php.ini and
    :: php configuration is not present.

    i am sharing some cpanel shots . see them sir and help me.

    this is cpanel view
    View attachment 17921

    this is php config view
    View attachment 17931
     
  9. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You need root access to turn off safe mode.
     
Loading...

Share This Page