The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

change primary domain valiases problem..

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 4u123, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Is anyone else experiencing this ?

    If we change the primary domain on an account, the customer gets errors in their cpanel interface as follows..

    Fatal! Write Failure: /etc/valiases/webmail.mydomain.com. Ignore any messages of success this can only result in failure!

    What seems to happen is that the actual valias file for the subdomain on the new domain is not created (or the old one isnt renamed) so the above error comes up because it doesnt exist. I've had to rename the old file manually to reflect the new domain.

    This has happened a handful of times now and I was wondering if anyone else is experiencing the same problem?
     
  2. arunsv84

    arunsv84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    #2 arunsv84, Nov 7, 2008
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2008
  3. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately both those links were to unrelated info. This problem specifically relates to the vailiases for subdomains not getting renamed when the primary is changed in WHM.
     
Loading...

Share This Page