The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

change primary IP address tutorial, have some questions in some steps

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by basketmen, Jan 6, 2015.

  1. basketmen

    basketmen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I used this tutorial to change primary IP address
    /http://www.codero.com/knowledge-base/questions/248/, i have some questions in some steps

    i changed IPADDR, but i dont find GATEWAY in this file, is this ok? maybe because this tutorial is old enough



    so example like this 1.2.3.4:255.255.255.252:1.2.3.3
    is this already correct & still needed now?



    i only have 1 ip for my server, is this still needed?





    thank you for the answer
     
  2. Saravanangdrpl

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Upon changing the file to represent the correct values for the IP, you could restart the network,

    /etc/init.d/network restart
     
  3. MuthuSB

    MuthuSB Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Restarting the network is not enough, compulsory you have to restart ipaliases

    /etc/init.d/ipaliases restart
     
  4. basketmen

    basketmen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i already rebooted the server, i dont need run those restart again right?





    the tutorial link above is not completed, its forgot 1 important step, that is :
    WHM > Change Site’s IP Address
    damn, i still use my old ip in the last 3 hours because dont know above step, my host still put the old ip for few days until make sure all services already changed to new ip
    already Change Site’s IP Address, to new ip now

    which part i can check again so changing to new ip guys?
     
  5. Saravanangdrpl

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, as you have rebooted the server there is no need to restart the services separately.

    You should check on your particular account IP address on your DNS ZONE & change the IP address to new one.

    Hope this may helps you.
     
  6. basketmen

    basketmen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ah yes this already done, thank you
    WHM > Edit DNS Zone

    any other place guys?
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,765
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You should not have to modify the DNS zone or Apache configuration if you used the "Change Site’s IP Address" option in Web Host Manager for the account. This option does that automatically.

    Thank you.
     
  8. basketmen

    basketmen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    but i already did that,
    the order is reversed, "Edit DNS Zone" first, then few hours later "Change Site’s IP Address"
    the tutorial above is not good enough or not completed


    any other place i should check/edit guys?


    btw i get this email message, its a daily cron, what should i do guys? :
    curl: (6) Couldn't resolve host 'mydomain.com'
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,765
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you elaborate on what exactly is not setup correctly at this time? Also, could you use a website such as IntoDNS and let us know if the name servers are correctly configured?

    Thank you.
     
  10. basketmen

    basketmen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    looks like no problem, checked on intodns too

    only my visitors a little less than normal

    please recommend appropiate & updated change primary ip tutorial if there any, so i can recheck
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,765
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We don't offer an official guide on changing the IP address of a server because it's a network-level action that's not associated with the cPanel software. There are user-submitted instructions on the following thread:

    Changing Main IP Address

    Thank you.
     
  12. basketmen

    basketmen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi again guys,

    currently in WHM > Change Site’s IP Address, there is still old ip, beside new ip

    i already emptied /etc/ips again, so removed the old ip information & service network restart too


    what should i do? should i leave it there?

    Nb. my host says already disable the old ip from their side
     
  13. basketmen

    basketmen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so it is in WHM > Show or Delete Current IP Addresses,
    after i click trash icon on old ip, get this error message :


    Confirm that entry for “1.2.3.4” should be deleted.
    Entry for “1.2.3.4” not deleted.
    The reported error message was: “Failed to remove IP address.”

    screenshot : [​IMG]


    how to solve this or which part i need to check?
    already checked all in Edit DNS Zone, no old ip anymore there
     

    Attached Files:

  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,765
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  15. basketmen

    basketmen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    created a ticket, since i cant solved this yet, already tried rebooted the server too
    ticketid : 5995707


    already contacted my host too, they said already disabled the old ip from they side
    there is no problem until now with the old ip still existed like that, but please delete it if necessary
     
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,765
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To update, the analyst suggested the system's routing table was the cause of this issue. The user opted to keep the old IP address added to the server.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page