The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change Server IP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by web12, Feb 10, 2003.

  1. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    Is there a way to change the main server IP?
    (by this i mean not changing the default shared IP, but the actual server IP).

    I wonder if this can be done manually, or if it needs to be done by the DC?

    thanks
     
  2. FijianTribe

    FijianTribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What operating system are you using?
     
  3. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi FijianTribe,

    Its a RH Linux box. 7.3 with Cpanel/WHM.
     
  4. FijianTribe

    FijianTribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Login to WHM and change the IP address in the first section under Edit Setup. This should cahnge the IP address for you.

    Only problem is now you have to point all your domains to that IP address. Second problem is that your license is IP specific and may not work after you change IP addresses. You can allways add IP addresses through WHM.

    Now in theory, yes this should work. But WHM sometimes does weird stuff like keep listening on the IP address as eth0:n ... and make sure your ftp &A& records are updated. I've seen it do only the main domain.tld A record, and forget that not all FTP entries are CNAMEs to the same IP.
     
  5. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi FijianTribe,

    Thanks for the reply, but surely what you have just described to me there is for changing the default shared IP address, and not the main server IP?

    Let me know if I am wrong, but that is what I thought that meant.
     
  6. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:271f303ff4][i:271f303ff4]Originally posted by thaphantom[/i:271f303ff4]

    the main server ip is the IP on eth0, so whatever this is set to is the main server IP. You would have to change it in shell and your license would have to be updated as well.[/quote:271f303ff4]

    Thanks!

    Thats just what I needed. I also changed it in hosts, is there anywhere else I should make any changes? everything seems to be working fine at the moment though.

    Thanks again Phantom!
     
Loading...

Share This Page