The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change site IP, but subdomains remain?!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by xvihost, Dec 13, 2007.

  1. xvihost

    xvihost Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi all. Just now I changed two of my accounts IP addresses because they were using dedicated addresses with no need (they are not SSL hosts).

    So the domains transferred to the shared IP fine, but their subdomains (both ftp.* and also a www subdomain on one host) stayed at the old IP addresses. This is keeping them from rebuilding into the address pool.

    Also my server's hostname shows up for those addresses also under HTTP usage.

    How can I get these subdomains and my server's hostname out of there so I can get these IPs back in the available pool?

    Thanks,
    Tom :)
     
  2. neorder

    neorder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm facing the same issue.

    I changed two website to main server shared IP, however, ftp.domain.com remained, it's shown under ftp usage.

    Any idea?
     
  3. xvihost

    xvihost Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    neorder,

    I setup a new account the other day and tried to use an IP that I am pretty sure still had a leftover "ftp" entry, but it let me assign the IP to the new account anyway.

    So, I do not think the leftover IP -> ftp matchups will prevent you from using the IP.

    Peace,
    Tom
     
  4. neorder

    neorder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    you are right, it won't affect. but the system is not so 'clean' .

    such as even if i have changed the IP address, and i'm pretty sure all records were updated sucessfully in DNS and httpd.conf, however if i try to list the accounts, the account is still 'shown' as associated with the original IP when it was created.

    it's rather confusing as I am not the only one login to WHM. Other ppl may not know i've changed the IP, and they may redo the change IP thing...etc.

    I'm not sure if it's only few of us had this problem, if it's not a commom problem/bug, i would like to have a solution.

    (the IP pool, httpd configure rebuild do not help)
     
  5. elkram

    elkram Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Have you tried, in cPanel, deleting the subdomains and then recreating them?

    I'm pretty sure that the contents of each subdomain remain untouched by this.
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    When using pure-ftpd there is a bug that does not remove pure-ftpd virtual host symlink. As a result the show ip usage screen will see it and report it. It won't cause any problems, it will just continue to appear on the ip usage screen.

    You can force a cleanup by running

    Code:
    rm -fv /etc/pure-ftpd/*
    /scripts/buildpureftproot
     
Loading...

Share This Page