The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change Site's IP Address

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by meeti, Aug 22, 2008.

  1. meeti

    meeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    HI,

    i click the "Change Site's IP Address" to change the ip of certain website,

    it looks likely that one ip can be used for one account only?


    because my original shared ip is 123.123.123.1

    and i change a website's ip to 123.123.123.2,

    and i want to change another website's to 123.123.123.2,

    it looks likely i can not find the ip at all,


    is it right?



    thanks
     
  2. MaestriaNick

    MaestriaNick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    As far as i can see, cpanel is only allowing one shared ip. So, if you assign one free ip to any domain, it will consider as a dedicated ip for that domain and will be removed from ip addr pool. Means, will not be available for another site. But if you really want to change the ip, you can manually do it by editing some files, via ssh. Attempt only if you are familiar with httpd.conf and confident you can edit it successfully.

    1) httpd.conf

    Find for the VirtualHost for your doamin name. In that virtual host, change the so that it will look like , where xx.xx.xx.xx is your ip.

    <VirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xx:80>

    Also, check for any entry NameVirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xx:80 exists in the httpd.conf for xx.xx.xx.xx . If no, add an entry

    2)Change the dns zone for that domain , updating all the A records with this new ip.

    3)update the "IP=" at /var/cpanel/users/<username> , where username is the username for that domain.

    You will need to restart httpd after changing the httpd.conf file.
     
  3. meeti

    meeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hi,


    thanks for your teaching a lot,

    i want to ask if i updating cpanel/apache someday later,

    will my manual editing record lose?


    thanks
     
  4. MaestriaNick

    MaestriaNick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    no, this will not be lost
     
  5. meeti

    meeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    thanks MaestriaNick. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page