The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change WHM password

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alanpollenz, Feb 13, 2004.

  1. alanpollenz

    alanpollenz Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Outside the event horizon
    I upgraded my cpanel today, and when asked for the WHM password (after the upgrade) I apparantly entered the wrong password.

    Is there any way to change the whm password other than through whm. I still have root access.

    Thanks.
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    The password for root WHM is the same as for root SSH. If it's root you're talking about and SSH works but WHM doesn't, you could try restarting cpanel. (/etc/init.d/cpanel restart)
     
  3. alanpollenz

    alanpollenz Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Outside the event horizon
    In my etc/init.d directory, I do not have a cpanel directory. There is a file named cpanel*, but it is not a directory and is not a command.
     
  4. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    huh?

    Just ssh in as root and type the following and hit enter:

    /etc/init.d/cpanel restart
     
  5. alanpollenz

    alanpollenz Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Outside the event horizon
    Thanks.

    Turns out I used to be able to log in as 'username' and now they tell me unless I am a reseller I need to log in as 'root'.

    Does this make sense?

    Alan
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    WHM is only acessable by root or resellers. End users (individual accounts) only have access to cpanel, not WHM, so yes, that makes sense. To log in to WHM with a username, that username has to be a reseller.
     
Loading...

Share This Page