The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Changed Account Password for Domain in WHM, now old and new FTP pass work???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by napalm1, Jul 19, 2003.

  1. napalm1

    napalm1 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I changed Account Password for a Domain in WHM, now old and new FTP passwords work??? (ProFtpd)

    I can login login to the ftp with the main Domain username and both new and old passwords work. I restarted the server and still the same thing.

    When I change the password in WHM for a domain, should the old password be removers automatically?


    Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. NeutralGold

    NeutralGold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    go to etc/proftpd check the file for that account see if there's a duplicate entry for that username.. If so remove it..

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. napalm1

    napalm1 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Strange, the user file looks fine...
    Can anyone else reproduce this problem?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try synchronizing the FTP passwords in your WHM.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. napalm1

    napalm1 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks goodmove,

    That did the Trick, silly me, I did not see that option before I made the post :)

    hehe, I thought the change password would automatically Sync the FTP passwords.

    It is working now,

    Thanks again

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I wish... ;)
     
  7. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I don't know if this has been fixed in newer EDGE releases, but you could submit a ticket just in case :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. PeteC

    PeteC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    Password Sync

    If you change a password in CPanel, it updates the FTP password.

    If you change an account password in WHM, it doesn't update the FTP password until you "Synchronize FTP Passwords."

    I just opened a support ticket about this.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 19589
     
  9. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Re: Password Sync

    Confirmed, just tried it in WHM and I can use both to old and new password to log in.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    this is the reason i have placed sync ftp passwords script in my cron job. it runs every hour ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Anand,

    Can you please tell me how you did this? I am having this problem as well and would like to be able to syncronize clients' FTP passwords automatically via crontab.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Do the following:

    1. In shell type crontab -e
    2. Place the below on any line

    55 * * * * /usr/local/cpanel/bin/ftpupdate > /dev/null

    This will basically sync your passwords.

    Basically the script called from WHM is /scripts/ftpupdate which inturns calls the above to sync the passwords.

    I choose to do it every 55 mins, its your wish to do it whenever you want it.

    cheers!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. adrianc

    adrianc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, this is strange, when I change a password in WHM, I can't use FTP at all! with neither the old or new password!

    Anyway, does it matter which ftp program you are running on the server?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    No it shouldn't matter which ftp program you running on the server in this matter. Just try to change the password back and do a FTP password sync and recheck.

    With pureftp you need to do user@domain.com as username for ftp.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. mike123106

    mike123106 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is amazing! I was totally having problems because I changed my pw with passwd and the ftp account didn't change. This worked wonders!

    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/ftpupdate > /dev/null

    Thanks guys!
     
Loading...

Share This Page