Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Changed sshd port problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fuzzie, Jan 19, 2006.

  1. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    So I was suffering from a ton of sshd attacks...easly solutions, right?
    I changed the default port number, the max tries, the grace period, and the root access.
    Restarted sshd....everything should be OK, except I forgot to add the new port number to the iptables...now I can't get in.

    Any ideas of how I can fix this remotely?
     
  2. Harryhood

    Harryhood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Gamehenge
    Ask your datacenter if they can access the server over a direct connection for you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
  4. Tagor

    Tagor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Unfortunately you can't fix that remotely.
     
  5. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice